New Happenings

I know that it has been forever since I have posted.  Life has changed drastically for me!  Years of working hard on the farm took a toll on my back.  I have spent the past several years in and out of the hospital trying to fix my crumbling spine.  Sixteen surgeries is a lot of surgeries to have at the age of 42 and I am far from finished yet.  This is my new battle…to stay out of wheelchair…and yes, I am winning as of now!

I had to give up the farm and my precious animals which I think of almost daily.  I actually miss the hard work as well.  I know that sounds weird to most but a person can get a lot of self worth from putting in a hard days work and seeing the outcome of all the hard work day in and day out.  I am grateful though to be able to travel and go on vacation.  It had been years since I had been to the beach.  We could never go before because we always had to be back to milk every twelve hours.  People who drink milk needs to keep that in mind.  Farmers give up a lot.

Anyway, I was approached by Rob and Donna Hostetter.  They were soap customers of mine once upon a time.  They decided to purchase my soap business and my precious soap recipe.  I’ve never given that recipe to anyone before.  It was between my grandmother and I.  I really wrestled with the idea of giving it to them but my name will be forever attached to Bada Bing Goat Milk Soap and I wanted them to be successful as well.  So with promises. reassurances from them, and their names signed in blood that they would not divulge the secret recipe to anyone else…I sold the soap business.

They are really a great family and I know they will do an excellent job in carrying on my tradition of making excellent goat milk soap.  You can purchase their soap online at http://www.badabingfarm.com.  So for all of you that loved my soap, it is back on the market and available again.  It is with a heavy heart that I wish them well.

As for me…I am a full-time student again.  I am going to the Southern New Hampshire University online.  I have a double major of a BS in Justice Studies and Forensic Psychology with a minor in Communications.  Many of you probably didn’t know that I have worked in Law Enforcement and Emergency Management fields since I graduated from high school.  (and I ran a farm too…I have been a busy lady!)  I’ve been a Correctional Officer, 911 dispatcher, Police Communications Officer, and the list goes on. I’ve worked for the local government and the state of PA.

At the age of 42, I have had to change my direction in my life.  I may no longer be able to do hard manual labor but I will return to the work force again.  My plan is to finish my double BS in Justice Studies and Forensic Psychology and then continue onto a Masters degree in Law.  My goal is to teach.  I want to be a Professor.

So many have laughed and said I couldn’t do it.  I mean it’s been almost 25 years since I was in high school.  But I know I’m not stupid and like farming, when I put my mind to it, I can do anything.  At the age of 42, I went back to school.  My freshman year I’ve maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA and I am pretty darned proud of that!

As far as my health goes…it has been a roller coaster of fun and excitement!  I THINK that we are finally at the last step though.  I currently have 6 herniated discs in my thoracic spine.  Having them in your thoracic spine is a whole different ball of wax.  I’m currently jumping through all the hoops my insurance company wants me to, to have the surgery to fix it.  I’ll be down and out of it for about a month to six weeks at the minimum when that does happen but HOPEFULLY I will be able to at least return to the workforce after that.  I would like to start some of my internships but have to have the surgery first.  It’s all a big pain the backside!  For someone who is used to working 16 to 20 hour days, I am going nuts sitting and laying around in the house!  Thank God for school!

As far the new blog (I got your message Sandy 🙂 goes…I don’t know if I should just keep this one going and just change subtitle and such since so many of you have become like family or should I just start a new one and shut this down.  I almost hate to do it.  This blog has so much history to hit.  It is my last link to the farm…all the pictures and everything.  What do you all think?

Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope 2013 is a GREAT year full of blessings!  It is bringing me my second grandchild due on St. Patricks day.  If she is anything like her big sister, I will be thrilled.  My granddaughter, Allison, is the joy in my life.  There have been days when  I have been so low and just wanted to throw in the towel.  Disgusted and miserable with pain in my back and I have thought I should just end it.  It was thinking of my granddaughter that pulls me out of my lowest moments.  She is so much fun, such a joy and a wonder, precious and sweet, a TRUE GIFT FROM GOD.  I love her so much and realize how blessed I truly am…back pain and all.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Happenings

  1. Michelle says:

    I think you should keep this blog; like you said, it has history and photos that are dear to your heart – to your readers’ hearts, too! But since you’ve sold the soap business and aren’t running a farm anymore, perhaps you should change both the title and subtitle. The web addy could stay the same (and the sweet header photo).

    P.S. Happy New Year and WOOHOO on the GPA!

Leave a Reply

