Sally, this is for you…

A lot has changed since I posted.  I’m not sure where to begin.

We made a family decision to sell the farm which about broke my heart but had to be done.  My back couldn’t take it any longer.  I still have a few goats as pets but that is about it.  We moved into a smaller house (which is great for the back as it is easier to take care of).  I got a job with the Pa State Police as a Police Communications Operator which is just a glorified title for a dispatcher.  I love my job even though I work long hours, weekends, holidays and rotating shifts.  Since I used to be a 911 dispatcher before I became a farmer, it was like puting on an old hat without having to handle fire and ems calls.  Sally, I could write a book just about my job.  I work with a great bunch of people who are all crazy like me, pretty much think like me, and have my sick sense of humor.  I deal with many sad things but holy crap, I deal with a lot of really funny things as well.  Here is a tip…I cannot dispatch the FBI or CIA because you have been evicted out of your apartment.  Sorry for your hard times but I think the FBI, CIA, and the alike are a little busy fighting terrorism right now.

Vince is still with A. Duie Pyle, Mike and Katie are still homeschooled but we are probably going to send them back to public school next year.  My grand-daughter, Sarah Allison O’Brien was born just before Christmas.  She is the most beautiful baby I have ever seen.  No really, she is a doll and yes, I guess every grandparent thinks that but holy crap, I just love her to death.  She has stolen my heart!  Joey deployed to Afghanistan last week and now I spend my nights laying awake and worrying about him.  My daughter in-law Annie is still in North Carolina but moving back to Virginia to be closer to her family while Joey is away.  She is a wonderful mother and I’m glad God picked her to give me a grandchild.

But, I have just started a new blog.  It’s about my journey as a Marine Corp Mom…all the highs and lows.  Annie had a long conversation when Joey left (we cried a little, laughed a little, and cried a little more) but I realized one thing.  In our phone call, I was telling her how all alone I felt and that even though my head knew there are 1,000s of other Moms who are going through or went through what I am right now, my heart feels like I am the only one, that no one else in the world could possibly understand how I feel.  Annie made me feel better by telling me she felt exactly the same way.  I have placed him in God’s care but when you have a son actually fighting a war it’s truly heart wrenching.

So Sally, that is pretty much it…I’m still a smoker (although Vince isn’t anymore), I haven’t killed Vince yet (although I have secretly planned it and what wife hasn’t?), Mike and Katie are still driving me crazy and fighting with each other all the time, my hair is still red (naturally gray now but thank God for hair color), still have glasses (but they are thicker), my backside is still wide, and I still live in Ephrata. 

One other thing Sally…I’m writing a book.  Yes, a real book.  I can hear you laughing all the way here.  It is about, you guessed it, my family.  I haven’t told anyone, you are the first (I didn’t even tell my family).  No one will probably want to publish it but if they do, perhaps you and the 10 other people who actually have read my blog over the years will be the only ones to buy it.

When I am ready, I’ll post the new blog’s web address.  Take care Sally!  I hope the new year brings you all you have hoped and wished for. 

Semper Fi!

Amy (proud Marine Corps Mom who is currently loosing her freaking mind because she is freaking worrying about her son but knows her freaking out worrying family is praying for him to come safely from this stupid freaking war)

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sally, this is for you…

  1. Michelle says:

    Amy, I think about you often and wonder what is going on back east, so thank-you for this update.

    From one of your faithful blog readers and devotee of your soap,
    Michelle

  2. susan says:

    Oh Amy! I have been looking for your site for some time and while thrilled to find you again, my heart goes out to you having to leave the farm. But I know exactly where you are at for I, after nearly 40 years of critter raising, am in the same boat. It is terribly hard to let things go. But, anyone who has done what you have accomplished can take the next path in life without ever missing a beat! Its just another adventure and challenge in life.

    AND WRITE THAT BOOK!!!
    susan

  3. Ozark momma says:

    Amy, so glad to get an update. Yes, I will buy your book. :o)
    Also, post a link to your new blog. I would love to read it.
    Thank you. And congratulations on your granddaughter. That is way cool!

  4. Sally says:

    Have you started your new blog yet? I’ve been reading your blog for years. Please let me know about your new blog, when you start one. Prayers go out to you and your family. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

