2010 Pa State Farm Show

We are off to the Pa State Farm Show once again.

I entered soaps again this year and won 2 blue ribbons in the lye soap division and the glycerin division.  Poor Katie didn’t place with her picture of Valentina (see below).  She was a little disappointed.  I think the picture is excellent but I have a feeling the judges think the tattoo ink is a blemish in the picture.  Unless you have worked with goats, you probably don’t realize we tattoo their ears instead of putting tags in them.

The kids have entered Clover, Shamrock, Toni, Tasni, Shannon, Hazel, Holly and Maude into the Dairy Goat competitions.  Last year they did really great.  So well in fact, it’s going to be hard to top it.  I have my fingers crossed anyway.

We are taking my adopted daughters, Jade and Jaralyn (not offically but I am considering keeping them forever but I don’t think their parents would like it too much) with us.  They help us out a lot around the farm especially with milking chores.  They are a true gift from God (aren’t all kids though?).  We are going to give them a crash course on showing goats.  They’ll do great.  I just know it.

I puchased a really good cot and packed plenty of pain pills to make it through the Farm Show.  I even have a microwave, coffee pot, and toaster oven.  Loads of food, a tent, and a heater.

Our January tradition…Pa State Farm Show for a week is always fun for the kids.  Mike and Katie will have a blast regardless if they win or not.  They are so excited and since they work their backsides off year round, I think they deserve a mini-vacation.  So come hell or high water, we will be there.

Wish us luck!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2010 Pa State Farm Show

  1. Michelle says:

    Good luck! Although if you do well, I know “luck” will have nothing to do with it! Congrats on the soap wins; I know we sure love what we got from you. Take care of your back….

  2. Montra Freitas says:

    I just wanted to tell you that I LOVE that picture of Valentina, and saw it initially in my Hobby Farms magazine. What a CUTIE! She smiles like my baby boer wether does! Thanks for making me grin too, from way over here in California!

Leave a Reply

