Back Surgery once again…

So here I sit just a few days away from another scheduled back surgery.  This will be my fourth and I am hoping and praying, my very last.

In a nut shell, when I am done I will have a completely reconstructed spine.  I am getting an array of hardware placed in my back…rods, baskets, screws, etc.  Seems my back is that of a 70 year old man that has worked hard all his life.  I can thank my Mom for those awesome genetics (she had the same surgery just a few years ago).  I always tease her about the wonderful genes she passed onto me…the fat gene, the fair skin & don’t tan gene, the go gray hair gene that began to turn when I was 16, and now the bad back gene.  I think she gave my older sister, Ann, all the good genes…she is thin, tans, has beautiful skin, and perfect hair…yeah, whatever!  The competitive kickboxing and weight lifting that I did 10 years ago has nothing to do with it.  Honest!

So I’ll be in the hospital for a week and then strict bedrest for 6 weeks after that.  Then 6 months of taking it easy and rehab, followed by never being allowed to lift anything heavier than a gallon of milk for the rest of my life.  If you know me, you know that this is just as horrible as putting me in jail.  Poor Vince will be left with trying to take care of everything…kids’ school, farm, house, laundry, cleaning, cooking, and working his job at A. Duie Pyle.  My family is great though…everyone has offered to pitch in from cleaning and cooking to milking the goats.  Where would I be without my family and friends?  They are a true blessing from God!

So I have been preparing…cleaning, cooking meals in advance and freezing them, trimming hooves and worming the goats.  I also have plenty of yarn for knitting and books to read.  I hate just laying around and I think that will be the biggest challenge for me.

I have to admit though I am a little afraid.  Not so much of the surgery and the pain but of all the drugs.  I have been on pain killers for awhile now.  What I take now, just gets me through the day but I have most definately built up a tolerance.  After the surgery I’ll be on morphine and the alike.  You hear so many horry stories of people becoming addicted to pain pills especially when dealing with back problems.  I think I’ll just sign myself up for drug rehab now!

I remember being on bed rest all three times I was pregnant.  Vince was awesome then.  He would invite my girlfriends and sisters over.  We would lay in my bed, play cards, watch movies and eat pizza.  Vince would even paint my toenails and fingernails (don’t take his guy card away, he was just being a good husband) and wait on me hand and foot.  Atleast this time around he won’t have to change diapers as the kids are old enough to help with the chores.  I am expecting him to loose his cool though from time to time as he will have a lot of added stress in his life.  Perhaps Katie can paint my toenails for me this time!

Most of all…I’m going to miss my goats.  Yeah, yeah, yeah.  I know, I need a life.  BUT you have to remember, to me they are part of the family, all 200 or so of them.  They make me laugh, they keep me in good spirits, and this farm has been my life long dream.  Katie offered to sneak a few in the house to visit me…sshhh…don’t tell Vince as he would have a fit.  Perhaps I can make it to the front porch for a little snuggle with a few of my favorite babies.

Anyway, life has handed me this latest challenge.  With God’s help and a little humor, I’ll make it through.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back Surgery once again…

  1. Michelle says:

    Sounds like you’re going to squeeze in as much damage, er, I mean work, as possible before going under the knife again. Careful, or you’ll give the surgeon more to repair than s/he was bargaining for!

  2. susan says:

    Your in my prayers for success with this surgery and a speedy recovery!

  3. Mom says:

    I also gave you the beautiful gene…. I Love You, Mom

  4. Dan Reilly says:

    Amy,

    I could come down and help eat pizza or maybe even some farm work. Fran still wants a goat, Ican’t tell if for pet or freezer. Our chicken experiment is still going okay four hens laying well, the rest in the freezer. The rooster is loose and may stay that way. If you need some help please call. Will work for food.

Leave a Reply

