A quick note

Sorry I have been away for awhile.  Things are always so busy here and I never seem to have enough time to get everything done.  I recently had my 3rd back surgery that wasn’t successful either…Oh well hopefully the 4th time will work.

I think every doe is coming into heat now and the boys are completely nuts with the does giving them so much attention.  My newest little guy Saadal Ja-El Sid has been entertaining the ladies lately.  I really can’t wait to see his kids and I’ve been using him mainly on my show does.  He is my little man still though…always wanting a little hug and kiss from his Mama (me that is).  Even though he is stinky, my heart still melts when he comes close for a little snuggle time.  I always put him in my lap and tell him how much I love him.  He nuzzles against me as if to say, “I love you too”.  Pathetic right?  I know, I need a life but I love my goats.  What can I say?

We are gearing up for the Pa State Farm Show in January as well.  This will be the first year I take milkers.  I usually don’t as most of my girls are dry by then and bred.  The long drive down from Tioga County was a bit hard on pregnant does.  This year though I am only an hour away and over half will still be milking then.  I have a couple Nubians and Saanens I am looking forward to bringing.

We recently had the Sciotti Family Reunion here at the farm.  It was nice to see everyone again even though it decided to be cold and rainy that day.  Fall is definately in the air as the days have grown shorter, the temps have cooled, and the does are in heat & the bucks are in full rut.  If our first breeding took back in July, we should have our first kid crop born sometime in November.  From November until July, will be the big baby boom.

Ok, got to go rest my back now so that I can make dinner and do more laundry.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quick note

  1. Bonnie Borasky says:

    January?…you’re not going to be able to do that…won’t you still be on bedrest and restritions?

Leave a Reply

