Church, Naps, and Dog Grooming

I love Sundays!  Why?  It is my day off.  My day to do only what is absolutely necessary and only what I “want” to do.

This morning we arose at 6am to get milking chores done before heading out to church.  We have been going to a new church almost every week to try and find a church we feel at home with.  Usually Vince and I like it but the kids didn’t or visa versa.  This morning we went to a church friends of ours suggested.  Without going into detail, I think we found our church. 

After church, we stopped at a dinner and had brunch.  We took the long way home, traveling through some of Lancaster County’s back country roads.  This is the part of Lancaster that I love…the farms, the Amish and Mennonite, and the road side stands. 

We stopped in Reamstown to look at a rabbit hutch for Katie’s rabbits and then headed to the music store for Mikey.  He wanted to purchase a CD he had saved up for.

After that, we went home.  I kicked off my shoes on the front porch and ran for the sofa.  I was asleep in minutes.  That is how I spent my afternoon…napping.  I look forward to taking my Sunday afternoon nap all week long.  Sometimes I have to take it in the car while we are headed to see family but I make sure I take it.  It’s like coffee in the morning, without it, I am unable to face my week ahead.  Mike woke me up at 5pm because he was hungry.  I’m glad he did because I could have slept straight through until morning.  I made steaks on the grill, a fresh salad, and mashed potatoes for dinner.  With a little time to spare before milking chores, I announced I was going to clip the dogs.

I clip the goats all the time…this couldn’t be any harder than that right?  Wrong!  These poor dogs look like they were in a fight with a pair of scissors and lost.  Vince asked me if I used a dull knife on them.  Let’s just say they are trimmed but they sure aren’t ready for any dog show.  I’m out there on the lawn trying to clip them.  I have them standing, sitting, laying, and twisted into different positions.  I am covered in hair and sweating.  Come on this is hard work.  I trim their nails too.  Then they would get loose.  I would have to run them down because they sure aren’t coming when I call them now.  After awhile they give up and just lay their, shaking, and wimpering.  My family told me to stick to clipping the goats and to pay someone else to clip the dogs.  Oh well, I guess I can’t be good at everything!  Katie washed them after their hack job haircut. 

So now with my faith renewed, my Sunday afternoon nap behind me, and the dogs groomed…I am ready to face the week ahead.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

