My hard working girls…

Ok, ok (said with excitement and enthusiasm of a little kid on Christmas morning)…here are a few pictures of my hard working girls.  I say hard working because they know what their job is…to milk and milk a lot.  Meet Toni and Tasnia, my newest purchase from Rock E Timber Nubians out in Ohio.

DSCF7495

This picture was taken outside our milk parlor.  The girls were done milking and decided they would lay just outside the door in the sunshine instead of going back to the loafing area and pasture with the other girls.  They are just a tad bit spoiled as I let them stay there with me while I was finishing milking chores.

DSCF7509

This picture I call “Milkers & Future Milker”.  This is Toni and Tasnia on the milking stand.  Beside Toni is Rizzo.  Rizzo is the baby of the entire herd.  Being the youngest of 200 some goats, she has become the mascot.  She runs the barn and milking areas.  The rest of the herd just seems to put up with her always getting into their hay and grain.  She decided to get on the milk stand just as we were putting the girls up when I snapped this picture.

DSCF7502

Here is a picture of the girls on the stand.  That is me in the background milking.  There are 12 girls on the stand with 6 being milked at the same time.  This allows everyone enough time to eat before milking the group is done.  As you can see, their udders are at my height…no more bending over or sitting down to milk.

Lastly, here is a picture of Ralph.  Our first Nubian buck purchase we made from the former Ziggy Acres.  Ralph was enjoying the maple leaves that Mikey showed him.  As you can tell, he is a big boy but gentle enough for my kids to handle.  I have many of his daughters in my herd and I love them all.  Only complaint I have about Ralph is he was a slow maturer and his offspring seems to be as well.  You can always see the potential but they don’t truly blossom until they are two years of age.

DSCF7488

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

