Farm Tours, Pa Dept of Ag, and Rock E Timber Nubians

This past Tuesday, the sales team from Fleur de Lait came for a tour.  They wanted to bring the people who sell their product out to a goat milk producer’s farm for a tour and see where the product starts from.  We spent a couple of hours touring the farm, visiting, the girls, and answering lots of questions.  They loved the girls (who doesn’t once they come and visit) and left knowing goats aren’t the nasty/disgusting creatures people think they are.  They were amazed at how “tame” they were.  One gentleman said, “their just like the family dog” and “look, they come when she calls them!”  Yep, their my girls and I’m their proud Mama.  (yeah, yeah, yeah, I know…I need a life.)

We also had a visit from the Pa Dept of Agriculture.  We are applying for our raw milk license.  They came out to do an inspection and let us know what we had to complete to get the permit.  Vince gave him the tour as the kids and I finished milking.  He commented on how clean everything was and the facilities passed with flying colors.  We have one more week of testing the milk to go and as long as everything comes back clean, he would grant us our permit…aaahhh (me breathing a sigh of relief).  I always sweat these inspections.  It reminds me of cleaning my room as a kid and praying I passed my mother’s inspection so I could go outside and play.

Lastly, I recently purchased two new Nubian does from Rock E Timber Nubians in Ohio.  These girls are beautiful, milk like fools, and have my heart.  I can’t wait to show them as they appraised VEVE 89 and VEVE 88.  One is a 6* milker and the other is a 9* milker with one champion leg.  To top it all off, they have spots and are of the Pheonix Pharm Tiger’s Tia line.  I know it doesn’t mean much to you unless you are into raising, showing, and studying goat pedigrees but believe me it’s a big deal to the rest of us. 🙂 

Anyway, it was a 7 hour drive out to Ohio and another 7 back but I would make the trip again in a heartbeat.  This mother/daughter duo has a beautiful herd of Nubians.  The care for their herd is evident as you get a chance to look around.  You can tell they have a passion for the breed and enjoy being with the girls.  This is a breeder I highly recommend to anyone who is looking for show quality Nubians who are healthy, well cared for, and have a will to milk.  I told them to give me a call first when ever they put a cull list together.  I will most definitely be a repeat customer. 

As for the two I purchased, Toni and Tasnia, they enjoy our walks through our little orchard in the morning and evening after milking.  They also seem to love the giant fan that blows cool air through the loafing area during the heat of the day.  They are Mom’s girls already though as they follow me around and call for me when I leave.  Vince said no one else had a chance, they were mine from the get go.  I’ll post pictures.  I promise.

Ok, I’m off to get my hair done.  It must be bad because my husband came out to the barn this morning, handed me a coupon, the debit card, and said I HAVE to make an appt for TODAY and get my hair done.  Subtle, huh?  I should get a fluorescent green Mohawk just for him.  Men…can’t live with them, can’t kill them!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farm Tours, Pa Dept of Ag, and Rock E Timber Nubians

  1. Michelle says:

    Well, you COULD kill him, but then who would take care of the girls while you do time? 😉

  2. Bonnie Borasky says:

    I’m glad to hear he “made” you take some time to take care of yourself…because I know you aren’t!!

  3. susan says:

    I have a wonderful American nubian that goes to Tiger’s Tai and she milks like a house on fire. Wonderful mammary. I have several others but haven’t bred yet. Am anxious to see how they do next spring!

    susan

Leave a Reply

