My Boys…

So I often talk about my girls and how much I love them but I love “my boys” just as much.  I will admit though, they are pretty stinky and don’t get as much hugging and petting from me July through March.  When they are in full rip roaring rut, I hold my breath when around them.

When they are in rut, we refer to the buck barn as “The Frat House”.  I’ll let you take a moment to figure out why 🙂

Anyway, yesterday I was mowing the grass by their pasture area when I took these pictures.  I thought it was totally neat how they were working together to get those oak leaves.  Ralph stood real still and planted all fours solid.  His two sons, Danny Boy and Chico, used him as a platform to reach the oak branches.  They took turns pulling them down and eating.  First Danny ate, then Chico, and then they both held it down for Daddy to get some as well. 

Later that day, I went over and shared an apple with Ralph for being such a good Daddy.  I always tell everyone how sweet my boys are.  Here is proof…  By the way, the Saanen buck is Alamo.  Ralph would let him on his back, can you blame him though?  Alamo is HUGE and HEAVY!    Flame isn’t in them as he has himself some pretty girls he is currently enjoying the company of, with a big toothy grin might I add.  Joshua is sound asleep inside his barn so he wasn’t in on the fun either.  Enjoy the pictures!

On a sadder note, my “Tino” passed away Saturday night/Sunday morning sometime while I was away at the Laurel Festival.  Katie spent the weekend with Tino by her side trying to nurse him back to good health.  He did seem to come around Friday night but took a turn Saturday.  Vince called me Sunday morning and gave me the news.  Needless to say I was upset.  Poor Valentina is missing her brother and I am missing my little boy.

The Laurel Festival was rainy but good.  We did very well despite it pouring pretty much all day on Saturday.  I got the grass mowed and the house cleaned in Wellsboro while I was there as well.  The flu hit Mikey, Katie, and Vince though that same weekend.  It was a “puke fest” to say the least.  I am still trying to get caught up on laundry but I did clean and disinfect every room and everything in the house here in Ephrata.  Somehow, I haven’t come down with the flu…yet anyway.

Tomorrow you can find me at the Green Dragon Farmer’s Market selling soaps by the “Mellon Guy”.  I’ll be the one sweating my backside off and praying it doesn’t rain!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

