Happy Birthday Gert!

Gertie as a doeling getting a little snuggle time.

Gertie as a doeling getting a little snuggle time.

Every farm has a favorite animal.  On this farm…well I admit it…I have lots of favorites!  But, today is extra special…It’s “Gert the Squirt”‘s special day, it’s her birthday!  (Recognize the picture?  Mikey took this picture of Gertie and me).

Gertie was the first doe ever born here on our farm.  I immediately fell in love with her and goats.  She was so super tiny.  As a doeling, we called her Super Gert because like Superman and Spiderman she was able to leap into the air and appear to be flying.  She ran across the barn walls like she had suction cups on her hooves.  She was so comical.  We would laugh for hours just watching her.

Gertie is still the most playful and truly a happy doe.  As soon as she kidded, she was trying to get the other does to play with her.  She still runs and hops around like a doeling.  She runs to me…I mean run too.  So completely happy to see me.

This morning while I milked her I sang “Happy Birthday” to her.  Tonight Katie shared an apple with her.  I’ll admit she is most definately not a show doe but she knows how to put it in the milk pail.  She’s my ugly duckling but I love her anyway!

Happy Birthday Gertie girl!  Your Mama loves you!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

