I love my job!

I’m trying to keep it all together but I think I am becoming unraveled a bit.  Some would say I became unraveled a long, long, long time ago 🙂

Over the weekend, we loaded up our pig housing, patio furniture, and a few boxes to take to the new farm.  Saturday we just tried to get everything loaded, organize the barn, put a few barn items up for sale, and I managed to get laundry done and grocery shopping as well.  I made a nice dinner and we headed out to the barn for milking/feeding chores.  By the time I got back into the house, my bed was calling my name.  I was fast asleep before my head hit the pillow.

So Sunday we headed to the new farm.  We looked like the Beverly Hill Billies driving down the highway.  Pig pen in the trailer and patio furniture in the bed of the truck.  Vince said (speaking like a “redneck”), “We’s gonna go picnicing wit ta hogs”.  I told him I thought he should strap down the chairs in the bed of the truck.  He went on and on about it being perfectly fine.  It’s so safe that I could sit in the chairs for the 4 hour trip south.  Needless to say we weren’t on the highway 2 minutes and a chair flew out.  Thank God it didn’t hit anyone behind us.  He pulled over and strapped everything down tight.  I reminded him how “safe” it was!  It’s so safe that it nearly killed someone!  Men, they think they are experts on everything.  Don’t they?!

When we left Wellsboro is was rainy and cold.  We arrived in Ephrata to sun and 20 degrees warmer.  Made me realize just how much I miss the warm sunshine.  We just got everything unloaded when the sky turned rather dark.  Vince mentioned a storm was brewing.  We jumped back in the truck, grabbed a bite to eat, and headed north again back to Wellsboro.  Sure enough the storm left go.  There were reports of a Tornado, hail, and wind.  We experienced the heavy wind and rain but luckly that was all.

By the time we were back in Wellsboro it was dark, cold, windy, and still raining.  We hurried to the barn and got milking chores down.  I noticed Mikey’s doe, Windy, a boer doe, was showing signs of kidding.  Sure enough, she gave birth to a doeling in the middle of the night.  All are doing well.

Our first ever Alpine doe, Dotz, kidded the other day with triplets.  We were totally shocked as she didn’t look all that big.  Katie and Mikey handed them to me and said she had two boys and a girl.  I cleaned them up and fed them a bottle while they took care of Dotz.  That’s when we noticed they were a little off…more like she had two girls and a boy.  I told my kids jokingly they either needed another lesson in sex identification or they should quit doing drugs.  Anyway, they are all doing well.  Mikey named his Alpine doeling Angelina (love the name) and Katie named her’s Gizmo (hate the name).  They are still fighting over what to name the little boy.  Anyway…they are all doing great.

So, here it is Monday morning.  I have a doctor’s appointment today for my foot.  I have been walking around for almost a year with a (at least I think anyway) heel spur.  The pain has finally gotten so bad that I am headed to the doctor’s office.  If you know me, you know it has to be bad for me to go to the doctor.  I just don’t want to hear, “Looks like you’ll need surgery.”  Because that is what every doctor seems to say to me.  I guess I should just go and get my back surgery done as well but who has time to lay in bed?  Not me!  Besides, I am really really grumpy when I am made to lay in bed.  I just keep thinking of all the things I “could or should” be doing.

Crazy Dottie, one of our Nubians, is due on Wedsnesday.  I’m secretly hoping she has them on my birthday.  Clover should be going soon as well.  Then next week, Lilly (a Saanen) and Dublin (one of my favorite Nubians) is due.  Babies, babies, and more babies!  You just got to love baby goats if you have my job.  I was recently stopped in the grocery store and asked about them.  I told her how many we had and she said, “Boy, that’s a lot of work” (said in a negative tone).  My reply?  “Yes it is but when you love it as much as I do, it doesn’t seem like work at all”. 

So that is the key to my happiness…I love my job and all the hard work that comes with it.  I just need God to help me get my backside out to the barn.  Once there…all those ladies are sooo happy to see me.  I spend 5 minutes just greeting everyone, petting, and giving out lots of hugs and kisses (I get the kisses in return).  Then those babies are bouncing all over and doing little tricks, jumps, hops, and skips…before you know it I forget how tired I am and I am smiling, laughing, and singing while I do my chores. 

Who wouldn’t want a job that makes you feel that good?  Yep, I may be broke, have dirty hoof prints all over me, smell like manure more often than not, and am dead tired most of the time, but I’m happy.  Really really happy!  How many people can say that? 

Thanks God…I appreciate it all!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I love my job!

  1. Bonnie says:

    Unconditional love from a hundred goats=happiness

Leave a Reply

