Preparing to move…

So the fun begins!  I am sooo unbelievably tired but I keep just chugging away and hoping the end is somewhere in sight.  This week the house here got trim hung in the livingroom, diningroom, and kitchen.  Vince finished the drywall upstairs in the hallway.  I will be painting like a mad woman this weekend because the carpeting for the ENTIRE house comes Monday morning bright and early!

In between all of that, we are still kidding.  Gert the Squirt had a single doe kid Monday night.  Gert’s my girl, so this little doeling is extra special to me.  I named her Emma Mae Rose.  She has stolen everyone’s heart.  We all seem to walk by the playpen in the mudroom and pick her up, hug her, kiss her, and tell her how extra cute she is.

Mistaken Rose is due today and Countess looks like a balloon ready to pop.  I wish they would hurry up already!  Tomorrow, Joey comes home (YES!!!) for the weekend and we are taking a drive to Lancaster County to open our bank accounts for the farm and business.  If there is enough time, we will take a drive over to the new farm and show it to Joey.

This past week, Vince took Katie down to the new farm and they began the clean out and clean up.  My new milking system is being installed, my clean in place system was put in as well.  Below are pictures.  We call these our “BEFORE” pictures.  I personally can’t wait to take the “AFTER” pictures.  Anyway this is the old milk tank which is being replaced, the water heater is as well.  The milkhouse will get new walls too.  We are also putting in a refrigerator in there for medications for the goats.  There are a few pics of the milking barn.  This is the barn we will be milking the goats in.  Their housing barn is the next two barns behind it (Katie didn’t get pictures of them).  There is also a few pictures of the house and the original school bell that is still on the roof.  I love old houses and this one was built in the 1700’s.  It is also getting cleaned out as well.  Too many years of neglect and I can’t wait to bring it all back to life again.  It is sort of my thing.  There is also a stream, a little fish pond, well house/spring house, garage, and a few other outbuildings.  All of which Katie didn’t take pictures of.  Anyway, I wanted to have a few pictures of the “before”.

We also purchased a new software system for the goats called Dairy Live.  LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!  Did I say we love it?  Anyway, I highly recommend it, especially if you have more than a few backyard goats.  We are going on DHIR with ADGA and this records all the information right into it.  Eventually we will be getting the inflations that measure SCC, proteins, fats, pounds, etc. as each goat milks.  Man it takes all the hard work right out of it!  Ok, here are my before pictures.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

