Ruby has eyes that sparkle!

It’s cold again, windy again, miserable outside again.  I hate this winter.  It seems to be the worse one yet since I moved here to the mountains.  The cold claimed a doeling last night.  My Ruby was found this morning.

Last night it was so cold all the babies in the nursery pen huddled together underneath their playcube in the barn.  Too many trying to huddle together I guess.  They smothered my Ruby.  She was the smallest and got stuck in the bottom of the pile.  We found her this morning.  My heart sank, I knew something was wrong when she didn’t come bouncing to me when I came to feed them their bottles.  Katie lifted up the playcube.  I saw her.  I knew she was gone.  I went about my morning chores, sobbing, but getting them done anyway. 

Ruby was one of my favorite doelings born thus far this year.  She was one of Gem’s long awaited doelings.  She was just like her mother in personality and looks.  She stole my heart.  I would sing to her the song “Ruby has eyes that sparkle” while she ate her bottle.  Now she’s gone.  Here long enough to make me fall in love with her.  I wish is was just a bad dream…

Vince put in a heat lamp for the babies and we had to take out the playcube.  I was afraid they would smother each other again.  They all are standing underneath it, looking up and feeling the warmth on their little precious faces.  I’m praying this weather breaks soon.  If the wind and cold would ease up just a little, it would make it easier for everyone, goats and us.

This is the part I hate…the death.  Everyone who raises animals has to deal with it at one time or another.  I’m sure this isn’t the last time for me either.  But I still hate it!  I hope my heart never hardens to the pain either.  That’s when I know it is time to stop farming. 

I’ll breed Gemmy again next year and pray for a doe, a doe I will name Ruby.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ruby has eyes that sparkle!

  1. Michelle says:

    I’m so sorry….

  2. Cat says:

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear about Ruby. I have to agree with you, I love reading about all the new babies, but that joy has been touched here and there with the sadness of deaths. I hope this is something you don’t have to go though often.

  3. Ann, the city slicker sister says:

    So sorry for your loss sweetheart! I can only imagine how much she touched your heart, as well as Katie, Mikey and Vince’s too. They are so little, so sweet, so innocent and to be taken so quickly, it just breaks your heart. She is up in Heaven looking down and smiling. Just remember, she is in a better place with all the other sweet doelings that were claimed too early on. My heart goes out to your darling.

    Love you,
    Sissy

Leave a Reply

