I’m going to heavy drinking!

Yep, that’s right.  I think it is time to bust out the booze!

Shamrock kidded with beautiful twin doelings last Monday.  Really super nice girls!  We named them Patty and Lydia and I can’t wait to show them.  The more Flame kids hit the ground the more I realize what a powerhouse of genetics this buck is.  Gem surprised us all last Thursday and give me triplets…two does and one buck.  We named them Ruby, Sapphire, and little Vince.  Vince is for sale.  All three look exactly like her and have that sweet lovey personality that Gem is famous for.  They love to eat their bottles and then lay in your lap for a little snuggling and loving which of course, I am happy to do!

Vermillion AKA Millie, was the first Saanen doe to freshen this season.  She too gave me twin doelings on Sunday.  Mike named them Daisy and Lavendar.  They are huge and also the first of the Joshua kids to be born.  One has a tiny black spot on her leg.  Depending on how big it gets, I guess it could make her technically a Sable.  We will have to wait and see.  Anyway, the baby count has exploded over the last couple of weeks.  It has me hoping and jumping…bottle feeding around the clock.  Not complaining though, I love the time to do a little snuggling with the babies.  This is one of the “fun” jobs of owning dairy goats.

Poor Abby who kicked off kidding season and had such a hard labor ended up with mastitis in her one side.  Doc came out, gave her a few shots, and said the picture didn’t look good.  I thought I was going to loose her but yet again, I was able to bring her back from the brink of death.  She is back to milking but only on the one side.  I doubt she will milk to her full potential ever again on the other side but even only milking from half of her udder she pulls her weight.  My God can that goat milk!  I’ll take a barn full of Abby’s and retire!  She’s my babydoll.  I have become so attached to her since I have nursed her to good health several times.  It’s not her fault everything seems to happen to her.  She was the first doeling on this farm and well, she was my “learning project” you could say.  Anyway, she’s not going anywhere!

We also have been cleaning out the barn and have put lots of farm equipment up for sale.  It’s on the website under the sale barn page.  Trying to get things cleaned up, cleared out, and organized.  Vince even decided to sell his Cushman Hit & Miss Engine which was a shock to me.  I know how much he loves it.  The more I sell, the less I have to move.  This is the way I’m looking at it.  If you’ve moved, you know what a big job it is.  Times that by 100 and that is what it is like to move an entire farm!

In the house, I am still painting.  Vince was hanging new drywall in the upstairs hallway.  I am working on Mikey’s bedroom at the moment.  In two weeks, a friend is coming to do all the trim work in the livingroom and diningroom.  I also just picked out new carpeting that will be installed immediately after he is done the trim work.

In the midst of kidding, bottle feeding, milking, nursing Abby back to health, cleaning the barn out, and remodeling the house, I managed to get my taxes done as well.  I never fool around with the taxes.  I hate the job and this is why I tackle it as soon as possible.  I just want to get it off the “to do list” as soon as I can.  It’s as much fun as cleaning the toilet is.

We are doing our best to get this house on the market.  There always seems to be another project that needs to be done first.  I told Vince we should just list it and continue to get the stuff done.  Otherwise we will be chasing our tails for months.  Anyone want to buy it?  Give me a call 🙂

Vince has also spent some time at the new farm.  He got to tour another dairy goat farm in the area that milks 350 goats!  God Bless them!  We had Fisher and Thompson come in to put in a new pipeline and we are purchasing an new bulk tank as well.  Plus Vince has the fun job of designing a milking parlor that pleases me, pleases the goats, and makes the state happy.  Poor guy is starting to twitch a little.  Currently he is in Mass. and I get emails from him at 4 am telling me he can’t sleep because he has soo much on his mind. 

Some people ask me why I would want to milk 150 to 200 goats.  They say I won’t have a minute of peace and will be so busy.  After all this stuff is done and we actually make the move to the new farm, I have a feeling I won’t know what to do with all the spare time I have on my hands!  Milking 150-200 goats will be a piece of cake for sure!

So, I have a couple more does due this month.  I am trimming hooves and vaccinating.  Burning horn buds and tattooing in addition to everything else.  Little by little we seem to be getting it all done.  The January thaw never showed up until February.  We actually had a few days in a row of 50’s.  The snow which was several feet deep has melted.  It is currently raining.  That means…MUD!!!  Mud should be a curse word.  I hate the crap.  I can’t wait to move just so I don’t have so much mud to deal with.  It won’t be mushy mess for long though.  The temps are going back to reality and by tonight everything should be frozen solid again.

Vince nearly took his life in his hands this past week…he actually told me I have too much time on my hands.  I nearly pulled his eyeballs out of his head but decided against it because he was driving at the time.  You’ve got to be kidding me!  I told him he was a (sorry about this) jackass.  I then reminded him what it was like to be me and he started laughing.  He soon apologized.  Men!  They never seem to get it do they?  Mr. Romantic (cough cough cough) better pull something wonderful off for Valentine’s Day (which by the way was when we had our first date 15 years ago) to get himself out of the doghouse for that comment.  I doubt it though…he says it’s just a greeting card holiday.  See why I call him “Mr. Romantic”?  Even the kids tell him he needs help in the romance department.

Got to go…I’ve got so much to do (but hey it shouldn’t be any trouble getting it all done because….I’ve got too much time on my hands)!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m going to heavy drinking!

  1. Michelle says:

    Well, I think you are Wonder-Woman!

  2. Bonnie says:

    Too much time on your hands huh? Doesn’t Vince read your blog Amy?

Leave a Reply

