Pa Farm Show comes to an end…

Today is the last day of the Pa State Farm Show and I’m ready to go home.  Ready for my nice clean and comfortable bed and a good home cooked meal.

I’m sitting here writing this post with a little electric heater beside me.  I was actually shivering most of the night.  It is a lot warmer here though than at home.  Vince called me this morning to tell me all of our pipes are frozen including the water in the toilet.  He said he has the coal stove going and the furnace running.  Our house is normally 75 to 80 degrees in the winter with just the coal stove going.  I am not sure I am ready to return to the arctic blast that my house has become while I was away.

Yesterday was the Open Goat Show.  Last year was our first year we participated and we did OK.  This year we did much better.  My Hazel Rose got 3rd place in her class.  By Golly It’s Holly got 8th and Petunia got 10th in a class of 17.  My sweet little Snubians who are only 3 months old made their first ADGA show debut placed 1st and 2nd.  Cream got 1st, Cookie got 2nd.  We were over the top and couldn’t be happier.  We came to the Farm Show with 5 dairy goats and are leaving with 9.  I purchased 4 Saanens from Todd Biddle while I was here.

So, the goats did well, the kids had a blast, and I am worn out.  I’m headed back home to frozen pipes, frozen toilets, and kidding season is 13 days away.  I miss my dogs, miss my cats, and miss my herd of goats.  I plan on loving up all my critters when I get back, making a nice hot meal, then relaxing in a tub of hot water (if I can get the pipes unfrozen that is), and then crawling into my bed for a good night’s rest.  You all will have to wait a few days until I get caught up on chores, laundry, and cleaning my house for more Farm Show Pics…

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pa Farm Show comes to an end…

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations!!!

    I’ve noticed that you do not seem devoted to a particular breed, but are acquiring quite an assortment for your new dairy. Is this common in goat dairies? Most cow and sheep dairies I know of focus on just one breed.

  2. Kim Emerick says:

    I know this is for comments, but I can’t seem to find your email address. I just LOVE the little crocheted bag for soap that was in that wonderful Christmas gift you gave us. I would love to order one or more for friends. How much do you charge, do you take Paypal, and would you mail it to me? Thanks so much. Kim

    • asciotti says:

      Hi Kim,

      Yes, they are available for $2 each. They come in tan, blue, and green. I do take paypal, money order, or personal check. Not a problem to mail it out either.

Leave a Reply

