Pa Farm Show Youth Dairy Goat Show

Hello from Pa State Farm Show!  I am freezing my backside off in the dairy goat barn. 

I’ll update this post later on with pictures.  I just can’t seem to find my cord to download the pictures into the laptop so I can post them.  To make matters worse, I’m running a fever and not feeling very well.  It is also the artic here…temps are in the single digits at night.

Today the kids showed their goats in the Youth Dairy Goat Show.  The judge was Ann Weikel.  Ann has beautiful Lamanchas and Toggs.  We are actually going to purchase a few of her does this spring.

Mikey and Katie didn’t do well in the showmanship class and I thought it might be the start of a bad day.  Mikey said, “it looks like it is going to be a crash and burn kind of day”. 

When the Nubian Show started he quickly won his class with Hazel Rose.  Hazel then went on to win Jr. Nubian Champion.   He then went back in for Grand and Reserve.  He had a huge smile when Hazel won Reserve Grand Champion Nubian Doe.   

Next was the Saanen classes.  He again won his class with Holly.  Holly then won Jr. Saanen Champion and Grand Champion.  PCN was there and taped the event.  It should play on the PCN channel tonight…Mikey’s 15 minutes of fame I guess.

Next was Katie’s turn in the ring with our Snubians.  Cookie and Cream were just born this past October.  I gave them their bottle just before they entered the ring.  They had never been shown before so I was a little worried they would act up in the ring.  Cream won 1st place and Cookie won 2nd.  Cream then went on to win Reserve Jr. Champion.

Mikey went back in the ring with Holly to compete for Best Doe in Show.  Poor Holly just wasnt’ able to compete with the other does simply because she hasn’t freshened before.  But Ann thought she was a beautiful doe who will only improve as she matures.

So they both had an outstanding day.  Katie is currently sound asleep in the pen with her goats.  Mikey is off with Craig Williams who snuck him in to see the bulls who are in the rodeo tonight…this was “just as cool” as winning in the dairy goat show. 

Tomorrow is the Open Dairy Goat Show…cross your fingers for us!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

