Homemade Soap Competition & Market Goats

Our second day at the farm show had it’s ups and downs. 

First off, I won 2nd place in the homemade soap competition!  YEAH!!! So I guess I can say I have the 2nd best homemade soap in the state.  The kids were really cute and told me how proud they were of me.

Mikey and Katie had their market goat classes today.  They didn’t do so well.  They didn’t place in the top four so their goats were taken immediately to the loading docks and put on the truck.  They did learn a lot though and Mikey is determined to do better next year.  This was Katie’s first experience with showing a market goat and she says it is her last.  She sat with me most of the day and watched the sow & gilt sale.  She called her Dad every couple of minutes and asked if she could buy a pig. 

So she talked her Daddy into letting her breed pigs.  (God help me!)  She has her 4H money to spend yet and is going to do some searching and learning before she buys herself a sow/gilt.  She always liked doing a market hog as her 4H project each year.  Mikey says he might be interested in doing a market hog for the farm show next year but he isn’t sure.

We are all finished with the farm show until Wednesday when Vince brings us the dairy goats down.  Tomorrow we are going to go to my sister’s house and watch the Eagles games.  I have my fingers crossed for the “good” team to show up and beat the Giants into the ground….GO EAGLES!!!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

