I need a life!

This past weekend Vince and I purchased a new washing machine and dryer.  I have been going to the public laundromat since August.  Not wanting to put anything on a credit card, I decided to wait and save up for what I truly wanted…those new fancy pancy high efficiency front loading machines that use less water and less detergent that everyone keeps talking about.

 

So needless to say after going to the laundromat and washing my clothes while the local Billie Bob the Redneck ogles me over while I am bending over sorting my manure smelled/crud encrusted laundry with his one good eye that kind of drifts off to the right side, I was more than thrilled to do laundry in my own house again.

 

Yesterday they delivered the washing machine.  You would have thought I was waiting for Publisher’s Clearing House to show up with my prize money.  It was unloaded and Vince immediately hooked it up for me.  I loaded my first load of laundry into the washing machine.  Filled the compartments with HE detergent, softner, and bleach.  Busted out the directions to figure out how to determine the cycles and such.  I hit the start button with excited anticipation.

 

The light shown down from Heaven and the Angels began singing…the washer filled up with water and the “heavy duty” cycle began.  I actually stood in front of the washing machine and watched the clothes spin around.  That is when my husband told me I need a life.

 

Today, all the laundry in the house is done so I have begun looking for things to wash…curtains, bed sheets, comforters, throw rugs, etc.  Anything and everything I can think of that could use a washing is getting thrown in there.  I told the kids not to touch it.  It is all mine and I don’t want their little grubby hands breaking it by one of their ever famous “accidents” they seem to have on a regular basis.

 

The dryer doesn’t come until January 20th.  Until then I will be drying clothes in front of my coal stove.  I probably won’t get so excited over the dryer as I did the washer (I usually hang my laundry outside to dry when it is above freezing) but you never know.

 

I haven’t been this excited since we bought our new dishwasher last February.  Now if I could only get my husband to hook up the water to the fridge’s ice cube maker.  We got the fridge only two years ago and I have been begging him since then to hook it up.  I guess I don’t want him to do too much too quick though, I wouldn’t know how to act if every appliance in the house actually worked and did everything it is supposed to do.

 

So yes, I guess I do need a life!  Here’s hoping the small things in life thrill you as much as they thrill me!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need a life!

  1. Michelle says:

    You HAVE a life! A wonderful life filled with all kinds of labor-saving devices our grandparents could only dream of.

  2. Bonnie says:

    That is fabulous!! Happy washing!!

  3. Ann, the city slicker sister says:

    We are definitely of the same gene pool because it IS the little things in life that keep us going. I too get excited about any appliance that will make my life easier, especially one that takes so little of our time and does so much for us. Congrats!

  4. Pingback: ABC’s Wife Swap « Bada Bing Farm

Leave a Reply

