Dairy Goat Journal

As this month’s Dairy Goat Journal appeared in our mailbox, we were overly excited to get it.  We had been called in December from one of the magazine’s writers.  He informed us our does would be featured in the judging quiz.

Mikey came running in from the mailbox, screaming “it’s here” and waving the magazine in the air at me.  We ripped it open to the judging section.  We had been told that our does had taken 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.  We realized only two were used in the judging quiz and we had placed 1st and 3rd.  Mikey was a little disappointed until he read the judge’s comments and looked over the pictures.  He then realized what an excellent goat his “By Golly it’s Holly” is.  Below are the pictures and comments from the magazine.  Miss Holly and Petunia (the 3rd place winner) will be going to the Pa State Farm Show next Wednesday to participate in both the Youth and Open dairy goat shows.  They will be shown by a very proud 13 year old.  Let’s just hope that the judges like his Saanen doelings as much as the writer of this article did and as much as my Mikey seems to 🙂  In addition to Mikey’s Saanen doelings, Katie is taking her two grade doelings that were born in October (Cream of the Crop and Cookie Monster) and their Mama…Ella Bella Boo.  They also each have a market wether to show.  I have my fingers crossed for them but most of all we are looking forward to all the things to see and do at the Pa State Farm Show.  I will be bringing my camera and computer with me to hopefully keep you all up to date on the Pa State Farm Show happenings and pictures on this blog.  New this year, I am entering a quilt.  The competition is stiff and I don’t expect to win but am more interested in where I place in comparison and what the judge’s comments are.  It’s hard to stick your neck out there for the whole world to see (see you either win or fail big time) but I always learn so much in the process as well.  What can I have done better and what did I do right.

Dairy Goat Journal http://www.dairygoatjournal.com/ January/February 2009

***Our goats are B (Holly) and D (Petunia)***

By Golly It's Holly

By Golly It's Holly

Wow!  Kid B is a looker.  I love her alertness and overall strength of general appearance, dairy character, and body capacity.  She has balance.  What do I mean by balance?  She shows appropriate length throughout measuring higher at the withers than her hips.  The top line, rump, length of neck, and length of cannon bone are all proportionate to each other.  Straightness of lines and an open rib that angles to the flank, also are indicators of balance when all these described body parts come together in a package that is pleasing to the eye.  To be honest, I’m having issues faulting this kid, although in side profile, she could use a little more straightness of fore leg behind the knee and she could be slightly fuller at the point of elbow.

(What we find so neat about this…Holly was tragically injured as a 3 month old and missed most of the shows we went to over the summer.  She only went to two shows this past show season.  Holly ripped her entire right side open, tearing her muscles, etc.  We had Dr. Burleigh come and stitch her.  We figured she would never walk correctly and would never be a show doe.   Even Doc was concerned she wouldn’t be 100% ever again.  So here is a public and huge THANKS to our wonderful Vet for doing such a nice job in repairing her injuries.  …Dr. Burliegh comes highly recommened by Bada Bing Farm!

 

Petunia

Petunia

Kid D has good constitution and length of bone.  I like her strong head both in width of muzzle and depth of jaw and her good breed character to her head.  Actually, body capacity is one of ther strongest points.  She has one of the widest chests in the class along with more spring of rib than some of the other kids as well.  Although, she could use more balance.  She is low in her front end.  What do I mean by this?  If I were to measure her, I would get a higher measurement at the hips than I do at her withers.  I would like to change the front end on this kid.  She is prominent at the point of shoulder, lacks in fullness behind her crops.  I am sure we would see a lot of movement in the shoulders if we were able to see her on the move (most noted between the junction of the withers and shoulder blade).  In terms of feet and legs, I would like to see more angle to her hock and straighter fore legs from both views.  She does have enough openness, but would like to see her sharper at the withers when evaluating her dairy character.  Other points of dairy character, length of neck and good incurve to the thigh are noted.

Kid B clearly wins this class with her excellence in all areas of the ADGA scorecard.  More body capacity than Kid A is most evident.  She is wider throughout from chest to escutcheon.  She has more strength of bone with more increasing depth from the point of elbow to her flank.  She also places over A in general appearance.  She blends more correctly in the front end, overall, with less prominence at the point of the shoulder and a smoother transition from neck into wither.  She also shows a more desirable slope to the rump.

Kid D places over Kid C first in body capacity.  She is wider in the chest with more depth of heart and more depth to the rear rib.  She also has a slight advantage in general appearance with more overall length, a more desirable slope to the rump and more extension to her brisket.

Class was placed…General Appearance:  BADC, Dairy Character:  BADC, Body Capacity:  BDCA….Overall placing is BADC with cuts of 7-3-5.

***Side Note:  I don’t have pictures of the 2nd and last place goats but I am hoping the comments and pictures of these two will help all those out there like me who are still trying to learn.  This is why I also posted the pics and comments of Petunia even though she isn’t a show stopper per se.  Also please keep in mind, goats seem to change monthly.  I have a particular Nubian line that looks like crap until they blossom into these drop dead gorgeous two year olds.  Breed goats you enjoy looking at…because you are the one that has to look at them every day.  For example, I like a goat that looks “well fed” (it’s and Italian thing I guess).  When we first started in the show ring I always got told my goats were “fat”.  Now they don’t say that anymore as the trend has changed.  I just kept right on feeding my girls as I don’t like a bag of bones…sorry blue ribbon or not, my ladies and gents will eat well regardless (even if they aren’t show does).

Anyway, that is Holly and Petunia’s claim to fame.  I’m off to the barn now to help the kids get their goats groomed for the Pa State Farm Show.  We hope to see some of you there…We will be the ones pigging out on all the wonderful food!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dairy Goat Journal

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on the acknowledgment in a national magazine! Mikey has every right to be proud, and you have every reason to be pleased with your vet.

Leave a Reply

