Murphy’s Law, Arctic Blast, & Happy New Year

Happy New Year everyone.  Here’s hoping 2009 brings you health, wealth, and happiness!

This past week I had the pleasure of paying my truck off and early I might add.  What an awesome feeling.  I always get a feeling of accomplishment when I pay something off.  Maybe it is just the weight that is lifted off of my shoulders when I don’t have those monthly payments to make anymore.

My husband purchased my 2003 Dodge Ram 2500 brand spanking new in the fall of 2003.  It was my Christmas present that year.  I always wanted a brand new truck for some reason.  I just loved it then and still do now even though I don’t drive it much (to save money I drive the car…it’s a lot cheaper on gas money).  Having a farm & living in the mountains, it has certainly been needed as well.  It has just over 60,000 miles on it and of course is starting to need a little attention.

As the Arctic Blast of snow, wind, and cold weather came in from the north, the U-joints went on the truck.  My poor husband has been in the barn yesterday and today trying to put new ones in.  Poor guy is having a hell of time trying to fix it with frozen fingers that just don’t seem to work.  Of course, while he has it apart he noticed a few other things that needed fixed as well.  So he is also changing the breaks, changing the oil, tuning it up, etc., etc., etc.

I’m not complaining though.  Vince is an excellent mechanic and saves us so much money being able to fix our vehicles and inspect them as well.  We only have to purchase our inspection stickers for our vehicles since my husband has his inspection license.  But being married to a mechanic also means getting used to them buying every known tool to man.  AND in my home that means Snap-On tools only.  There is no Craftsman tools here (which by the way are much cheaper!).  He loves his tools so much and has so much money wrapped up in them that we actually have them insured separately.  Yep, they are his beloved babies that he lovingly wipes down (each and everyone) after he uses it & puts it away.  He also has them locked up like a bank too.  There must be twelve locks a piece on each and every one of his tool boxes.  Me?  I just have a few hammers and screw drivers in the junk drawer in my kitchen.  I don’t even know what “brand” they are and could careless.

Anyway, so Murphy’s Law has taken effect…I paid the truck off and now it needs fixed.  Oh well…at least it is all mine and not the bank’s!  We were supposed to go to Mass. today but we are going tomorrow if the truck is back together that is.

Like any good German descendant, I am making my Pork & Kraut today so that my family and I have good luck in 2009.  I remember the first time I made this very German meal for my very Italian husband.  He smelled it, looked at me, and thought I was secretly trying to kill him.  I of course was gorging myself on this most excellent meal of “rotten cabbage” and loving every second of it.  He summoned up some courage and put a big fork full in his mouth.  His big Italian brown eyeballs rolled back in his head, his stomach retched, and then he vomited.  I just rolled my eyes at him.

He said he was never going to eat it again and from now on I better make pasta for him on New Year’s Day.  I told him that we eat pasta every friggin day of the year but on New Year’s Day we are going to eat pork & kraut.  I then explained the good luck/bad luck thing to him and he got the picture that I wasn’t wavering on this meal.

So after 14 years of marriage, he now eats pork, kraut, and mashed potatoes.  It isn’t his favorite meal but he doesn’t vomit anymore after eating it either.    I also make corned beef and cabbage on St. Patrick’s Day (in honor of my Irish heritage), the rest of the year we have some kind of pasta so my 100% Italian husband doesn’t go through macaroni withdraw.  I am a good wife aren’t I? 🙂

My caprine ladies are beginning to look big and fat.  Their udders are filling up and I have a couple of first fresheners that are looking promising.  I just can’t wait until kidding season arrives.  We are now 30 days away from the first due dates and I am still breeding a few does. 

I have also been working on the inside of my house.  I am finally getting some painting done.  I recently painted my bedroom.  It was a very dark and dismal maroon color.  I painted it a very bright and airy pale green color.  I am ordering new carpet next month for it and my office.  Yesterday I began painting my kids’ bathroom.  This has to be the most God forsaken remodel ever.  The walls were puke green.  I painted it blue with white trim.  Vince walked into the bathroom and was stunned at the difference.  He said you can actually go the bathroom in it now without wanting to puke.  I took it as a good compliment.  Next, I will be painting Mikey’s room and the upstairs hallway.  Then the entire upstairs of my home will be re-painted.  I have all the old carpeting ripped up throughout the house now and Vince will be flooring the entire house with new laminate flooring except our bedroom and den which gets the new carpet.  I still have to paint my livingroom and diningroom and do the trim work.  Vince also has to work on the kitchen but little by little, we are getting it all done.

So as long as the Arctic Blast hangs around, I’ll keep working on the inside of our home.  We always do a little each winter and as we have the cash on hand.  Vince and I don’t own a credit card & don’t believe in them.  We like paying cash and I like not being in debt for anything except my mortgage.  It may take us longer to complete projects but I would rather it be that way.

I wish you all a Happy New Year.  My you all have good luck even if you don’t eat Pork & Kraut today!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

