New Muck Boots & such…

I just finished doing some cleaning.  The kids and husband are down in the barn cleaning it out before the weather gets bitter cold again.  I thought I would take a moment and update my blog, answer the 100’s of emails I have, and box up soap orders I received today to ship out Monday morning.

I had an awesome Christmas!  I got brand new Muck boots and an electric blanket!  When I told me sister this (the city slicker who lives in Harrisburg), her reply was a sarcastic “WOW”.  I guess you won’t understand how excited I am to get new Muck boots unless you are living on a farm and dealing with (what seems like) knee high mud and manure at times.  The electric blanket is an added bonus on nights when the wind windchill is in the negative temps.  When I opened this gift, I thought I had died and gone to heaven.  I have used it every night since Christmas.

My mom cooked us Christmas dinner.  I can’t remember the last time I didn’t have to cook on Christmas day.  As soon as I walked in the back door of her home, my stomach starting growling at the first whiff of dinner.  She had been cooking for two days…ham, turkey, mashed potatoes, her famous mac and cheese, sweet potato casserole, corn, pies, cakes, cookies, bread, plus all the snacks, chips, dips, and sweets.  But…my most favorite thing she made…what she made just for me…COLLARD GREENS!!!!  Yep, I am a southern girl at heart.  My mouth is beginning to water just thinking about them.  In the words of my daughter…OMG, they were the bomb!

The kids got mainly money because heaven knows I seem to suck at buying them clothes.  According to my daughter I pick the most horrible things out and then I am totally shocked when she doesn’t want to wear it.  Mikey on the other hand wanted to have actual presents to open on Christmas morning.  I did seem to get one thing right though…I purchased ipods for each of them.  AND, to my daughter’s amazement, I didn’t get the “cheap ones” either.  I have to admit though, their big brother helped me in purchasing them.  I text him while I was in the store to make sure I was getting the right items.

Today we took them shopping so they could spend some of their Christmas money.  I thought they would burn right through it all in a flash but they surprised Vince and I both by not spending it on stupid things and not spending it all.  They each got some clothes.  Clothes that apparently won’t embarrass them because Mom and her horrible “old lady” taste didn’t pick out.

Tomorrow, two of my sister’s are coming with their families for dinner.  I promised to make them an Italian feast.  So, I guess it is my turn to spend some time in the kitchen this holiday season.  The pecan pie sitting on my counter is calling my name but I am determined to wait until tomorrow to slice it.  My hips certainly don’t need the pecan pie.

We will spend New Year’s Eve in traditional Sciotti style…having a picnic in the livingroom…lots of snacks, dips, steaks, shrimp, and watching movies.  Sometimes I crack a beer or pour a glass of wine.  It just depends on how much the kids are driving me crazy. 

New Years Day we are driving to Mass. to pick up 4 Saanen does we purchased.  After that…we are preparing for the Pa State Farm Show.  We have market goats for the first time.  I’ll be the one in the corner crying as they are being shown.  Yes, I don’t eat my goats.  Some ask my why.  I always tell them I raise children too and I don’t eat them.  We are also taking dairy goats as well.  This year I am entering a couple of quilts too.  I figured what the hell, you can’t win if you don’t enter right?

Ok, so that is the scoop.  You are officially brought up to date.  I will post again hopefully sometime later this week.  I have big news to tell you all.  You are just going to have to be patient though.  This news will have a few dancing in the streets!

Here’s to a healthy and prosperous New Year!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Muck Boots & such…

  1. Michelle says:

    Love my Mucks, too — and I don’t eat any of my animals or fowl!

Leave a Reply

