Stimulus Packages and Government Bailouts

Ok, so this post isn’t going to be about my goats, farming, or this wild, crazy, and adventurous life that I lead.  Don’t go away just yet though…read on!

Here I am crawling on top of my soap box, clearing my voice….

HELLO WASHINGTON DC & ALL THOSE ELECTED OFFICIALS THAT ARE SUPPOSED TO BE WORKING FOR ME!….Can you all hear me?

I don’t have a Master’s degree in Economics, Accounting, even Math from Harvard, Yale, or any other university for that matter.  I am just a little small time dairy goat farmer from Wellsboro, Pa.  I probably don’t mean much to many people and most could careless about me but I have your answer to all your economic problems.

If you moronic blow hards would pull your heads out of your backsides long enough to really listen to us small peons who pay your salary, you might have figured out that we are a little bit “pissed off” so to speak.  Quit bailing out the banks, car companies, and anyone else who shows up at your door step including all the foreign countries who “hate Americans” but seem to love all of our money and free handouts.

How about taking that “stimulus package” and “bailout money” and giving it to the PEOPLE OF AMERICA!  Well, there’s a concept huh?  Give every adult over the age of 18 $100,000.  I have a feeling we’ll pay off our debts and become current with our bills.  We’ll buy cars, washers & dryers, frigerators, lawn mowers, we’ll invest in the stock markets, and we’ll pack some away for the next time the large corporations and banks screw up our economy again.  All of our elderly will even be able to buy their over priced medications that your medicare and medicaid doesn’t cover even though you promised them it would.  Seems like this would answer all the problems doesn’t it? 

Guess what…we the People of America have the answer!  Quit telling me how I will have a piece of the large corporations, banks, and the American car industry.  They can’t figure out how to turn a profit.  Congress can’t figure it out either.  Why would they together?  So you say “two heads are better than one”.  I say, “Yeah your right as long as both heads aren’t moronic idiots”.

Quit shoveling me loads of your BS!  I have enough manure laying around the farm as it is.  If you are going to bail out the large and rich businesses then be prepared for John Q Public to have his hand out as well.  Lead by example…balance the budget and live within your means.  Don’t keep rewarding these over paid executives with my money!  Make them get there act together, park the private jets, stop the all expenses paid vacations, and executive bonuses.   Here’s another idea….are you ready for it?…are you sure?….I don’t think you going to like it but….Guess what, you could save a whole lot of money by taking yourself off of the posh retirement package and health benefits and collecting Social Security like the rest of us.  I bet you would even be able to fix Social Security if you actually had to participate in the program.

HELLO!  ARE YOU LISTENING?  DO YOU GET IT YET?  It’s time to get your act together.  We the American People are tired of waiting!

Still a proud American,

John Q. Public

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stimulus Packages and Government Bailouts

  1. Michelle says:

    How cool is that snow gently falling on your blog??? LOVE it! I’d ask how you did it, but it doesn’t really fit here. Raindrops are more likely….

    Personally, I don’t think bailing out the people will work in most cases. Most have shown themselves to be totally lousy when it comes to managing their finances; that’s a big reason why so many are defaulting on their mortgages. No one held a gun to their head and made them take out ARMs, or finance 100% of the house’s value, or buy a new car on credit. Maybe if the government only gave stimulus packages to those of us who buy used cars with cash, and make extra mortgage payments on the house we could afford WITH a substantial downpayment and a fixed rate mortgage, and garden and can and cook from scratch, I’d be for it. My two cents….

  2. Bonnie says:

    Sorry but I agree with you Amy. I was preaching this same rant for a good part fo 2008 myself. I am a “victim” of this whole mess. I was in my house for over 15 years and ended up selling it at a loss after being on the market for over a year. I think they should have started at the bottom and the money would trickle it’s way up. I am certainly not enjoying any time at the country clubs with my vast wealth!!

Leave a Reply

