Little things amuse me

I’ve learned to appreciate the small things in life.  I really don’t need a big fancy house or vehicles with all the latest gadgets in them.  Nope, I just like the small things…hence, the snow falling on this blog.

I accidentally figured out how to do that.  Isn’t it totally cool!  And it’s free!  Enjoy the falling snow until January 4th, 2009 when WordPress will take it away.

So what other small things that amused me today?  My goats of course!  I went to Cornell’s (the local feed mill here in Tioga County Pa) and purchased Sweetlix Goat Minerals, mineral blocks (candle apple flavor), and wormer.  The herd had been out of minerals for awhile.  I realized I better go get them some when I started noticing their coats were looking a little dull.

Goats need vitamins and minerals just like you and I.  I notice my ladies seem to eat more of them when they are pregnant and at kidding time.  So I put the candy apple mineral blocks out as soon as I got back.  The herd of almost 40 goats were steady licking away. 

Their little tongues were going a mile a minute.  I put out some loose minerals as well for them.  Everyone was licking up the minerals, then looking back at me, as if to say “yummy” while licking their chops.  There I stood in the middle of the barn, laughing hysterically as the entire herd was flapping their tongues starring back at me.

I guess I owed it to them as I had Dr. Burliegh (my large animal vet of whom is never ever ever allowed to retire because he is the most awesome vet there ever was!) out to the farm to do our annual TB and BRUC testing for the Pa Dept of Agriculture.  A must in Pa if you are going to sell goat milk…you must be an accredited and certified herd.

So my poor pregnant ladies had blood drawn for Bruc and a shot under their tails for the TB.  Doc comes back Friday to finish all the paperwork and check for any reactions to the TB.  Then everything gets turned into the state and I am done until next year again.

The minerals were their reward for the pain and suffering I put them through yesterday.  As I left the barn laughing, my herd was steady licking the candy apple flavored mineral block like it was a community lolli-pop.  In a week’s time their coats will be nice and shiny again & I will have a happy healthy herd of dairy goats who will keep on amusing me.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

