Dickens of a Christmas

After a very busy Thanksgiving week, I have finally found a moment to sit down and update my blog.  I always seem to be pushed for time lately.

I had a total of 17 people crammed into my house for Thanksgiving Dinner.  Everyone piled in on Wednesday and left on Saturday.  There were literally bodies everywhere.  The food was good and I spent the rest of Saturday just trying to put my house back together.

So now that Thanksgiving has come and gone, I of course am preparing for Dickens of a Christmas in Wellsboro.  The weather forecast appears to be clear but uhhh…once again…VERY COLD!  If you aren’t familiar with Dickens of a Christmas let me explain.

The gas light district of Wellsboro is blocked off to vehicles.  All the local churches, the fire company, and all the local business opens there doors.  The churches and fire company and the streets of Wellsboro are filled with craft persons, actors, and food vendors.  Everyone is dressed in Dickens era clothing.  You will also find Tiny Tim and Scrooge strolling the streets.  There are also Christmas concerts and programs.  It is a wonderful way to do some unique Christmas shopping and get yourself in the festive mood.

The downside…It’s December in the mountains of North Central Pa…meaning it’s COLD…Hello…REALLY COLD!  My stand is located in front of Northwestern Bank and yes, I am in the shade all day long.

I will be selling quilts, my goat milk soaps, knitted dishcloths/washcloths, bath salts, crocheted soap bags (something brand new), and of course the bargain bin will also be available.  So stop by for a visit, buy some Christmas presents, and bring me Hot Chocolate…please, pretty, pretty please!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

