As quick as they come…they are gone!

My dreams are dashed…things fell through.  Just as I was beginning to believe my dreams were real, the deal fell apart.  Not on our end but on their end.  I still have hopes and so do they that it will all work out but for now we are at a stand still.

I am one to plow through and never give up.  I set a goal and then don’t rest until its accomplished.  That is just who I am….remember I am the Determined Flatlander (past post).  Anyway, I have put it in God’s hands and if it is meant to happen it will.

I was feeling like the wind was knocked out of me and dealing with frozen buckets and frozen pipes all the while trying to stay upbeat and positive (hard to do when your husband isn’t that type of person) when the phone rang.  I stated out loud to myself, “Please let this be good news.  I don’t think I can take much more bad news today.”  I picked it up, said hello, and a voice on the other end said, “Is this Bada Bing Farm?”  “Yes”, was my reply.  “This is Mountain Home Magazine.  We wanted to do a story on your farm, soaps, and the recent competition that you won.”

My heart breathed a sigh of relief.  Thank God it isn’t bad news.  Sometimes God takes away and gives all in the same day.  So, the farm article will be in the next issue coming out in December.  It also helped to keep me going and reaching for that dream of mine.

I know it sounds stupid to some and others are probably laughing at me but I just KNOW I was meant to do this.  I feel such peace and happiness when I am with my caprine ladies.  They make me laugh (and cry sometimes too), they are always excited to see me, and without them I think life would be miserable.  They get me out of bed in the morning, giving me a purpose besides cleaning the house, making dinner, and doing laundry.  I also know when you have a passion for something then all the hard work that goes into it just doesn’t seem like hard work.  One day my dream will come true but I am not going to wait around and hope it happens.  I plan on working hard at it!

I am headed to Harrisburg tomorrow for the Christmas Craft Fair at Central Dauphin East High School.  I will return on Sunday and get things ready for Dickens of a Christmas in Wellsboro.  My daughter Katie has promised to make sure my girls are well cared for while I am gone.  She has the same passion for the herd as I do.  We can spend hours in the barn just brushing, hugging and kissing them. 

I have been making soaps and bath salts, quilts, etc. for the upcoming craft fairs.  I hope that everything goes well because I have a dream to accomplish.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

