Who have we become?

Just this past month, I was waiting in line at our local Rite Aid drug store.  I had gone to pick up Vince’s perscription for him.  They were busy as usually with several people dropping off, picking up, and waiting in line.  I had to be somewhere myself but I have learned to expect the wait at Rite Aid. 

While I was waiting an elderly lady came in to pick up her medicne.  The very busy tech behind the counter who most definatley wasn’t enjoying her job, threw her bag of medication on the counter and rung her up.  The bill was obviously more than the elderly lady thought it would be.  She asked her why it was so much.  Already disgusted with her, the cashier simply said, “Medicare doesn’t cover the new medication your Dr. percribed for your heart”.  The elderly woman began to cry.  She didn’t have enough money for her heart medication but obviously needed it. 

I looked around.  Everyone was, to put it plainly, pissed off.  Here this lady was balling and crying, holding up the line and making their day just that much more miserable.  I reached into my pocket for my cellphone to call Vince.  I was hoping to reach him and ask him if I could pay for her medication.  I rang his cell without any luck.  Not knowing what to do but wanting to do something.  I walked over to her and told her that Walmart has some kind of discount medication program.  I suggested to the employee to call Walmart and see if they could help this poor soul.  I also suggested that if they couldn’t, perhaps she could pick up the phone and call this woman’s doctor and explain the situtation.  Maybe he could perscribe a different medication or give her free samples instead.

Everyone around me is still tapping their toes and sighing in disgust.  I just wanted to scream “what is the matter with you people?”

Last night my dogs woke me up around 2:30 am to go out.  I got up, reluctantly, and let them out.  I turned on the outside light and went to the window to keep an eye on them.  My two springers are easy to spot because they have white patches.  My rotty, Rosabell, is all black and hard to see.  Last weekend we purchased a flourescent orange collar that had reflective tape on it so that when she was out in the yard during night we could spot her. 

I was standing in the window watching them and noticed off in the distance a vehicle coming down the road at a high rate of speed.  He must have been going at least 80 miles per hour.  I stood their watching as the car approached my property, swerved into my yard, hit Rosabell, took out my mailbox and kept on going.  He never even slowed down.  He never even hit the breaks or for that matter took his foot off the gas.

I ran out the door and ran to Rosabell.  She wasn’t moving.  I ran into the house screaming for Vince.  My kids and husband ran outside.  Vince said “she’s gone”.  I broke down.  My dog was hit by a car in her own yard!

Vince held me in his arms while I cried.  We both asked each other the same question…”What is wrong with people?  Who have we become?

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who have we become?

  1. Michelle says:

    I have no words that will help the pain of losing your Rosabell in such terrible and callous fashion; I can only shed empathetic tears and readily recall losing my own Rosie just over a year ago. Oh, to have a gun to shoot out some tires just to be able to confront the jerk — not that it would have done any good. The person already demonstrated that s/he was either operating under the influence of something or didn’t give a rip; either way showing a complete lack of moral compass. I am so sorry.

    The situation you encountered at Rite-Aid was just as bad, if not as personal. I am so glad you stepped up. See? Not EVERYone has become heartless! YOU haven’t, and who knows? Your example may have had an impact on the clerk and other shoppers. You can bet it did on the elderly lady. Blessings on you!

  2. Arkansas goat mom says:

    I am so proud of you for stepping up for this sweet lady. Keep her in your prayers, as well. It’s a shame that common courtesy is so rare.
    Over 22 years ago, 8 mths pregnant, and trying to exit the interstate, the car following too close behind me, rear-ended me. Not much damage, and I was okay, but the young teens were in a rush to get to where they needed to go, and didn’t want to wait for the police. I insisted we wait, because I didn’t want a fight with my insurance company. When the young woman’s father found out about the accident, he was furious, and made her immediately apologize, pay for the damage, came to our house, etc. Turns out she was leaving the next day to join, of all things, ‘Up with People’. She was very contrite, and much humbler. I truly think she just didn’t stop to think about the bigger picture. So many people don’t. I have taught my children, and often remind them, of their ultimate end, and that that is where we are all headed. It is how we live our lives, not what we get out of life, that matters. It is so simple. Wish the schools could teach this, but it just isn’t part of the secular world.

    Thus the same ‘thinking’ (non-thinking) of the maroon who did away with your poor pup. You should file a report with your sheriff’s office. I am so sorry this has happened to you and your family.

  3. Bonnie says:

    Oh Amy…I am so sorry to read this news. What a loving and sweet dog and I know she will be missed.

Leave a Reply

