Friends Old and New…

Isn’t it funny how friends seem to come into and go out of your life.  How many of us are still BBF’s with those of our childhood?

I have had many close friends throughout my life.  Most I swore I would have a close relationship with until I died.  Many I would have done anything for.  That it just the way I am…a loyal friend who seems to wear my heart of my sleeve most of the time.

That has gotten me into trouble on more than one occasion.  I have been devastated by so called BBF’s over the years that got what they could from me and moved on.  I have come to realize my Grandfather’s words were wise and true…your best friends in the world are your family.

I am lucky though, I do have a true friend since my days of living in Philadelphia.  My girlfriend Bonnie and I became fast friends when we met as co-workers at the Oxford 1st Corporation in Philadelphia.  Bonnie was a single mom living in the Olney section of Philly.  I lived in the Frankford section.  Anyone who knows Philly, knows these sections aren’t exactly the clean and safe areas of the City of Brotherly Love.

I always admired Bonnie.  She was quick to be brutally honest and although this upset a lot of people, I appreciated her honesty with herself and those around her.  She loved me enough to tell me exactly how she felt even if it wasn’t what I wanted to hear.

Bonnie was always there when I needed her.  If it was a ride to the doctors, a shoulder to cry on, or advice.  She hosted one heck of a Baby Shower for me when I was pregnant with Joey.  There seemed to be a 100 people there…friends and family…and I got everything (and I mean everything!) I needed for the baby.  She also drove me to the hospital when I went into labor.

After I moved from Philly, we kept in touch with each other by email, phone calls, and Christmas Cards.  The last time I actually got to see her was my wedding which was 14 years ago this October 8th.  Recently she drove all the way from Philadelphia with her new boyfriend Joe for a visit with me.

After 14 years, it was just like we never missed a beat.  I gave her a tour of my home and farm.  We hoped in the truck and I took her around the county.  We drove out to the Canyon and hiked in the woods.  We went out to Hills Creek also and stopped at little shops along the way.  We all went out for dinner at Harlands and came back for smores around the camp fire at our house.  We might not have seen each other for many years but we are still close friends.  We both have a lot more wrinkles, gray hair, and are carrying a few extra pounds but it seems just like yesterday when she was driving me to the hospital while I was in labor telling her “don’t touch me, whatever you do, don’t touch me”.

So, Bonnie and Joe are back home.  Bonnie will always be a city girl and I doubt I will ever willingly live in the city again but we will always be friends no matter how often we see each other or how many miles are between us.  I also know that if I need her, she is only a phone call away and would be here as fast as her car will take her.

Many friends have come and gone in and out of my life since I met Bonnie way back in 1988 when I was just 18, single and pregnant, and scared of what the future held for me.  I am betting though she will be in my life until the day I die….good friends until the end.  And by the way, she picked a good man this time…both Vince and I like Joe a whole lot (and besides he shares his name with My Marine as well).

Seems like I make friends quickly with Philadelphia natives…my newest friend is Valerie who recently retired to Tioga County.  She stopped by to buy soap from me a year or so ago.  We quickly found we had a lot in common and have become buddies.  She always has a smile on her face and giggles like a school girl.  No matter what is going on in your life, just hearing that giggle cracks me up and makes me smile.

So, although Philadelphia taught me a lot, knocked me down a few times, and made me long for a small place in the country…it has given me true friends…old and new.

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends Old and New…

  1. Michelle says:

    What, now Snubian pictures???

  2. Bonnie says:

    You are too kind!! And what a fantastic loving friend you are Amy!! Keep up the wonderful work you are doing, being the wonderful, person you are and Joe and I hope to come visit again soon at your new place!!

Leave a Reply

