An update….

Sorry I haven’t posted for awhile.  I have been incredibly busy!  Here is the latest….

The girls are coming in and out of heat on a regular basis.  We cleaned out a “private” pen that is now referred to as “the love shack”.  I put the love birds in that pen and they get to spend “alone” time with each other for about 12 hours.  The boys now realize when we come to take them out of their barn it means they get to go on a “date” with a lovely lady.  Thus, whenever you open their barn door or gate to their pasture, they become completely out of control.  The only one I can handle is my Danny Boy and I am guessing because he is only 6 months old.  The other guys Vince and the kids handle.  Well, I guess I should say the guys handle them.  I am sorry but it is funny watching a 300lb. grown man being drug from one barn to the other by an overly excited buck in full rut, all the while hollering and swearing, falling down and getting back up.  I don’t care who you are…It’s Funny!

I have been making soap every single day for a month.  Trying to get prepared for all the upcoming craft fairs and events that I have.  This weekend is the Super Pet Expo at the 1st Arena Center in Elmira NY.  Next weekend is the Unionville Community Fair, and then the following weekend I have two events.  One in Wyalusing and the other in Sullivan County at the Fall Flaming Foliage Festival.  My parents are coming to help me that weekend since I obviously can’t be at both places at the same time.  I also have been busy sewing quilts and such too.  As if I didn’t have enough on my plate, I offered to make the Youth Quilt for the ADGA Annual Convention.  I left myself one full week to get it done.  I was sweating it, but I did get it finished and in the mail yesterday.

My newest doe “Miss Ella Bella” looks like she is ready to explode with Snubians!  The kids and I are like kids at Christmas looking at all the pretty packages under the tree but aren’t allowed to open them yet.  We just can’t wait!  Every morning Katie brushes her and begs her to have her babies real soon.  She is a doll baby for sure.

In other news, we are working on becoming Animal Welfare approved by the US Government.  Everyone who knows me, knows this is a cause near and dear to my heart.  So many lifelong farmers laugh at me and tell me how ridiculous I am to insist the animals on our farm are treated “right” from the day the are born until the end comes (naturally or not).  I just don’t see a reason to be any other way.  Most of my customers whether they are buying a hog or soap seem to care about it as much as I do.  This is my niche so to speak.  If I am going to be a farmer then the animals that live here will have a quality life.

I have also been looking into getting a windmill.  No, we are not becoming Amish.  It is just that we have all this great steady wind here.  Why not put it to use and make or save me some money.  My hope is eventually it will be up and taking care of all of our electricity supply or at least put a large dent into our monthly bill.  When you consider that I not only run a household but a barn (and eventually a Grade A Dairy), that is a lot of electricity.  It hurts the pocketbook for sure.

The weather is turning cold quickly.  The days have been abnormally warm but the nights are typical fall weather…cool and crisp.  We shut the windows at night.  This is my husband’s favorite time of the year.  He loves the cool weather and I love all the beautiful leaves.  There is nothing more beautiful then the North Central Mountains of Pa when all the mountains are ablaze with fall leaf colors.  What a view from every single window in my home.  Unfortunately this also means winter, snow, ice, and bitter cold are just around the corner.  The snow is beautiful as well but I am a wimp when it comes to cold.

My Marine is now a Lance Cpl. and he is stationed in Washington DC.  He has gotten Presidential Support duty.  I couldn’t be prouder of him!  It is extremely competitive to get into and approved for.  You basically have to have a squeaky clean record…no tattoos, no speeding tickets, good grades and test scores, as well as good behavior throughout high school, etc.  He said he got off the bus, walked into the barracks and got to meet the Vice President and Chuck Norris.  He is so excited for the Marine Corps. Ball coming up.  He spent his first weekend in DC going to all the monuments and museums.  He sent me a text from the Smithsonian.  I can’t wait until he has a couple of days off so that I can go see him.  I am so happy for him.  All of his lifelong dreams are coming true and he has become more than I ever have at the tender age of 18.  I might be just a small time goat farmer from Pa but I raised a Marine.  I haven’t done much with my life but I can at least say I did do that.

Mikey and Katie are back in their home-school routine.  This year they are taking Italian.  Their teacher lives in Rome, Italy and teaches via virtual classroom through the internet.  Everything seems to be going fairly well so far and I am keeping my fingers crossed that it stays that way.  They are also busy with farm work as usual with the occasional break to a friends house.  Mikey purchased an electric quitar and is promplty driving Katie and I crazy with it.  I want earplugs for Christmas and so does Katie!

So, that is the latest.  I have to go make more soap now….

Ciao for now!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An update….

  1. Pingback: Funny Blog » Blog Archive » An update….

  2. Great blog! I’m glad you’re applying to be a part of Animal Welfare Approved, a nonprofit program of the Animal Welfare Institute that promotes the well-being of animals and the sustainability of humane family farms. I hope you become part of the program soon as we were recently endorsed by the NY Times as the animal welfare food label to look for http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/09/18/unscrambling-the-egg/?ei=5070&emc=eta1

Leave a Reply

