July Is Flying By

July is flying by and I have about a million things to get done…like yesterday.

Vince and the kids stacked a years worth of hay in the barn this past weekend.  It is over a 1,000 some bales.  I believe it was something like 10 wagon loads.  We still have several hay fields to cut yet also.  My job is to count the bales as they are being unloaded.  This is about the only job I can do except get everyone drinks.  Having a bad back doesn’t allow for you to unload and throw bales of hay.  It drives me nuts.  I would prefer to help.  I did help Katie with one wagon load though.  She was on the wagon throwing the bales onto the hay elevator.  The elevator takes them up into the hay loft where Mike and Vince were stacking them.  I didn’t throw the bales but just pulled them out for her to put on the hay elevator.  It helps to get it done faster.

Vince made one field into round bales.  He stacked them between the buck barn and our main barn.  He then lit the burn barrel on fire.  A spark landed on one of the round bales and poof we had a fire.  I was inside working on our Linear Appraisal forms (I’ll explain that later).  All I heard was Vince screaming for Katie to get the hose.  I knew immediately what was wrong.  I guess I have heard that tone of voice and panic many times over the years as a 911 dispatcher.  I ran outside, jumped two sets of stairs on our deck and turned the water on.  All the while screaming for Mike to get the phone.  Katie ran for the hose and Vince immediately started putting the fire out.  I called 911.  I thought this is it, we are going to burn the barns down. 

With the help of our neighbor, we got the fire out without the need of the fire department.  This has always been my biggest fear…calling 911 for a fire at my own house.  All I can say is, the Big Guy was looking out for us.  It could have been a whole lot worse.

In the midst of haying and firefighting, my cell phone was lost.  Probably laying in a hay field or in the stack of hay in the barn.  I probably will find it about March of next year.  Anyway, I had to order a new phone…like I have loads of money for that.

My marine just finished SOI school at Camp Geiger.  He was promoted to Lance Corporal and graduates on the 18th.  From there he goes to Chesapeake, Va. for MOS training.  He is doing well and still loves the Marine Corp but is most definately glad that Infantry training is all done!  I miss him so much and think of him all the time.  I can’t wait to see him again and hug him.

I have several goat shows and craft fairs coming up.  We are taking the herd to the Goshen Country Fair in Chester County Pa. the end of the month.  I will be selling the soaps and participating in their ADGA show.  We are really looking forward to “going home” to show off the girls, see family and friends, and sell a few bars of soap at the same time.

Right after that is the Tioga County Fair.  We are taking less goats this year since they doubled the fees and it isn’t a sanctioned ADGA show but more of a “just for fun” show.  With less goats there, it will be less work and hopefully we will be able to enjoy the fair more.  Mike has a market goat, two market lambs, and a market hog going to the fair.  Katie has two market lambs and one market hog.  One day I will be able to talk them into just taking market projects and leaving the dairy goats at home.  Anyway, with two fairs back to back, the kids and I have a lot of shaving, clipping, shearing, and trimming to do!

In between the two fairs (August 1st, 2nd, and 3rd), I am particpating in the craft show at the Italian American Festival in Watkins Glen, NY.  We are sooo excited for this event.  The kids and husband are already deciding what they are going to eat.  I am betting what ever profit I make from soap sales will end up being spent on pasta and canolis!

In addition to the Tioga County Fair and the Italian American Festival in August, we are having our first ever Linear Appraisal.  It costs a ridiculous amount of money but we have been told over and over again that it is well worth it.  A ADGA appraiser will come out to the farm and appraise each animal explaining their weaknesses and strengths.  Teaching us to look at our animals with a trained eye which in turn will help us to breed better animals.  Way more learning put into one day than the kids and I could learn doing a year’s worth of 4H events and ADGA shows.

In September, I have two events…The Candy Apple Festival in Tioga and The 2008 Super Pet Expo at the First Arena Center in Elmira, NY.  The Candy Apple Festival is the weekend of September 20th and 21st.  The Pet Expo is the following weekend, September 27th and 28th.  A couple of the baby girls are coming along with us to the Pet Expo to help us sell the soap, bath salts, quilts, etc.  I love doing any event where I can bring the lady babies with us.  It is so much more fun and our sales are always better.  I paid for a double booth and nearly had heart palpatations doing it but I get advertising on 14 radio stations, 3 TV stations, and newspapers mentioning our farm and products in addition to just paying for the booths.  The advertising alone made it worth my while but I sure do have to sell a lot of soap to turn a profit.

With 3 major events just aroud the corner, plus two goat shows, I am a bit frazzled.  Making soap like a mad women, cleaning, cooking, stacking hay, kids, house, farm, goats, sheep, pigs, Linear Appraisals and a partridge in a pear tree.

July is flying by and I am falling behind.  So you have been updated.  If you don’t hear from me for awhile, you know why.  Stop by and visit us at any one of the events.  I love meeting my readers!

Oh, by the way…here is my new life motto. 

Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says…”Oh Crap…She’s Awake!!” 

Yep, that’s me!

Ciao for now!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July Is Flying By

  1. Michelle says:

    I LOVE that motto! I’m afraid it doesn’t fit me – yet – but with the Lord’s help, it can!

Leave a Reply

