A Second Honeymoon

All this week only Vince and I have been home.  The kids are away at 4H Camp in Sullivan County.  I suggested to Vince he stay home this week with me, just the two us.

We honestly don’t know how to act!  I home school the kids which means they are here ALL THE TIME!  Which also means…fighting, yelling, “he’s touching me”, “MOM…HE’S TOUCHING ME!”, dirty socks in the living room, muddy shoes in the house, dirty dishes EVERYWHERE, no food (they eat it all & I’m not kidding), bikes in the yard, EVERY SINGLE LIGHT ON IN THE HOUSE AND TELEVISION TOO!  Daily requests to drive them here and there, guitar lessons, violin lessons, and wide open doors and windows to let every bug & flying insect in Tioga County in the house.

So far Vince and I have enjoyed the peace.  We have ate our meals without having to scream at a child.  We actually have held more than one conversation without having to be interrupted by raving mad children fist fighting in the front lawn.  When we crawl into bed at night the house is clean, neat, and tidy.  Low and behold, when we wake up the next morning it still is neat, clean, and tidy.  Nothing has been “broken by accident” this week. 

We have hugged, kissed, and held hands just like we used to when we were first dating.  I noticed again just how handsome my husband is and he says I’m “hot”.  I guess it is because we aren’t sleep deprived and frazzled from breaking up the latest boxing match. 

No one has stolen my socks out of my sock draw, there isn’t any yelling or screaming, no loud thumps, thuds, and door slamming upstairs.  It’s peaceful and relaxing.  All the lights & TV’s are off, doors are shut, and the amount of flies in the house are actually less than the amount outside.  I have made several batches of soap that no one has stuck their fingers in, thus ruining the bar.

We both decided that we love our kids but they are most definately going to 4H camp every year no matter how much it costs.  As a matter of fact, I just might have to send them to several camps throughout the year!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Second Honeymoon

  1. Michelle says:

    Thank-you for affirming that I am not an awful mother to enjoy time without my son around — especially time alone with my husband! Alas, my husband doesn’t quite get this; he is not worn out by or distracted by our son.

Leave a Reply

