The Goat Butt Barber Shop

Hey, I am back.  I bet you were all on pins and needles, just dying to find out how we did at the Centre County Extravaganza goat show this past Memorial weekend, right?

So Friday morning I wake up and started my normal everyday chores of milking, feeding, and watering the goats and such.  Vince promised to help me get my work done since we had 16 goats to prepare for the show.  Now normally Katie and I do all the show clipping and trimming but she had class all day.  Katie knows how much work is in involved.  Although we have explained it to Vince on several occasions, I knew he either wasn’t listening or didn’t really believe us.

Vince announced that he just “had” to get the truck washed and vacuumed out because he didn’t want to take it to the show looking the way it did…like a farm truck (which it is).  I knew there was no arguing with him so I just reminded him that I would need his help with the girls and told him I would mow the grass awhile.

So he washed the truck, vacuumed it out, washed the carpet and seats, etc.  I mowed the grass and watched the clock tick away time.  I kept reminding him it would take a lot of time to show clip the girls but he said it wouldn’t take long at all because “he” was there to help.  Ok, yeah right.

Finally at 4 pm we begin milking chores and clipping the girls.  Remember I told you we had 16 to do.  That is how many we take to the Tioga County Fair every year also.  I usually  begin clipping goats a week to week and a half before that show.  Needless to say when it was 10 p.m. and we were only about 3/4 the way done, Vince began to complain.  “This is stupid.  Why do we have to do this?  Who’s idea was it to take so many? (It was his idea by the way…I only had about 6 on my original list)  I never thought it would take this long.  (For the past 3 years I have been telling him how much work is involved but I guess now he just may believe me)  ETC. ETC. ETC.

Who would have thought I would ever spend a Friday night in the barn shaving a goat’s butt…willingly on top of that.  Some of the girls just stand there like a statue and let you clip away.  Others aren’t so still and still others are down right horrible.  We have one particular Saanen that is like wrestling a 300 pound grown and hairy man greased up with baby oil after drinking a case of Red Bull energy drinks.  I dred clipping her every single time.  By the time we are done with her, I am usually BEYOND angry and just want to sell her.  I call her the “Evil Witch”.  That is the best description for her.  She just absolutely loves Vince though and will behave for him so he is given the task from now on to trim her feet, clip her hair, and worm her.  Katie and I have “washed our hands of her”.  By the way Vince was complaining towards the end, I don’t think he found it too much fun either. 

I closed up the barber shop in the barn, gave them the best alfalfa hay we could find, lots and lots of fresh cold water to drink, told my girls good night, and headed for the house at midnight.  The husband and I were covered in goat manure, goat hair, and feet trimmings.  We each took a shower and climbed our exhausted bodies into bed.  That is when Vince began to snore…loudly might I add.  I just put the pillow over my head and hoped to fall asleep even though the freight train was beside me.

At 4 am the alarm clock went off.  I groaned and grunted but got myself out of bed.  It took me another 1/2 hour to get Vince and the kids up.  We loaded the ladies into the trailer, crossed our fingers, said a prayer, and off to Centre County we headed.

We had perfect weather which is always a blessing.  My girls did very well….We took home 4 Grand Champions, 2 Reserve Grand Champions, and 2 Best of Breeds.  The largest class of the day we took 1st, 2nd, and 3rd!  We were all so excited and the kids were smiling from ear to ear!  What was even better…2 of those Grand Champions and the class where we placed 1st, 2nd, and 3rd…were animals that WE bred.  Meaning they carry the Bada Bing Farm name on their registration papers.  It is always nice to win but even more so win they aren’t animals that you purchased.

Driving home with our “Champions”, the kids fell asleep.  Vince and I looked in the back seat to see Mikey with drool running out of his mouth with a huge pile of Rosette ribbons on his lap.  When your kids get up every morning to milk goats, pitch manure almost every weekend, bottle feed 28 babies around the clock, and play midwife at 4 am…winning is a big deal!  It makes it all worth it to them.  It puts a little “fun” back in all that hard work they do throughout the year.

So that was the way our first show of the year went.  We have three more shows in NY state in June.  Boy, I hope the rest are as good as this past one.

By the way…I just sent in my next entry form for the goat show in Syracuse, NY on June 7th.  Guess how many Vince had me put on the list?  Yep, you guessed it…16 again!  Looks like The Goat Butt Barber Shop is back open for business in our barn this coming week.  OH WHAT FUN!!!  Any one want a hair cut?  I can buzz you up in no time.

Here are a few pics of some of the top place winners…everyone in these pics placed 3rd or better.  All of them did actually but most are camera shy.  For all you goat breeders out there…they aren’t uddered up for these pics.

 

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Goat Butt Barber Shop

  1. Michelle says:

    Great story; men everywhere are the same, aren’t they? Congratulations on all your big wins, too!

  2. swingingkfarm says:

    Congrats!

  3. Amie says:

    Congratulations and Good Luck with the show this coming weekend!

  4. Love your posts Keep em coming please

Leave a Reply

