A quick update…

Ok, so we are off to a goat show this weekend.  For some reason I was thinking of taking only a couple of goats.  My husband says “let’s take a bunch”.  So I now have 16 goats to “show clip” and trim their hooves up, wash them, clean the ears and all other little crevices (I won’t go into detail for you), etc.  Goat shows are just like dog shows but worse I am betting.  Maybe I can take pics for those of you who have never been to one. 

So that leaves the rest of today and tomorrow to get the house cleaned and more soap made.  I just finished up all the laundry.  I am trying, honest I am, to get all caught up.  Otherwise, I will be sitting at the goat show thinking of all the things that need to be done at home.

I am sure once I start chasing goats around the barn, I’ll be wondering why in God’s good name I listened to Vince and decided to take so many.  Hopefully after they all have had their beauty treatments and pedicures, they will be impressive enough to stand out and win me a ribbon or two…better yet…MONEY!

Holy crap, things are expensive.  Mikey put in a huge garden this year.  I plan to freeze and can as much as possible this summer.  It is a good thing too!  I don’t know how many of you have teenage boys or remember having teenage boys but Holy Crapola…can that 13 year old son of mine eat!  When he says…”what’s for dinner?” or “I’m hungry Mom.  What do you have to eat?”…I feel my bank account draining.  Add in the price of gas on top of that and it equals to having to sell A LOT of soap to make ends meet.

So to all you lurkers out there who have only pondered buying some soap…BUY IT.  Stimulate the economy.  Ok, well at least my economy anyway.  You are helping me to keep the boy full without loosing the house in the process.

Check back later in the week.  I am sure I will have a good story or two about trimming up the goats for the show.  Only I could come up with a good story about shaving a goat’s rear end.  AND this time, Vince says he is going to help.  Pray for us and pray for the goats too…they have no idea what they are in for.  Hopefully no one comes out bleeding & needing a vet or a trip to the emergency room.

Ciao for now…

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

