It’s a GIRL!!!

I have just a quick moment to add a post today.  Lambing and kidding season has arrived and we are so ready for it!  Although it always has us hopping and jumping, we are rested up and awaiting those beautiful babies.

On Monday, February 4th, our newest ewe, Beth, delivered a gorgeous baby girl.  Mikey got out of class Monday afternoon and decided to take a stroll outside.  He just happened to notice Beth standing there with a little baby lamb.  He came running inside screaming MOM!!! at the top of his lungs.

I thought the barn was on fire or the dog got hit.  He scared the crap out of me.  I came running through the house, greeted him in the kitchen, and was screaming WHAT, WHAT, WHAT!!! at the top of my lungs. 

There Mikey was, standing with a little lamb in his arms, hollering back at me, IT’S A GIRL!!!  Of course, I was just as excited as him but told him to go put her back or her mama might not let her nurse anymore.

So we both go charging out of the house.  As I am running behind Mikey, I am dialing Vince on the cell phone to announce that we have our very first baby of the year, a GIRL to boot, and our very first ewe lamb ever born here on our farm.  He will deny it but he was just as excited as we were.  He jinxed us by saying, “Maybe this is your year for all girls since you had all boys last year!”  The big JERK!  I could kick him in the butt for saying that.  After hanging up with Vince, I sent up a little prayer of thanks to God for answering my prayer and giving us a girl.  I’ll also admit that I turned 3 times to the left and threw salt over both shoulders in hopes that I took the “whammy” off that Vince created with his comment of “all girls”. 

Anyway, Mikey and I get her and her Mama all settled in their own pen.  Mikey is running for buckets, feed dish, hay, straw, heat lamp, etc.  Katie comes running out of the house now that she is out of class also.  She takes a trip to the large barn and gets the iodine so that we can dip her umbilical cord.  We put her back with Beth and make sure she is nursing.  We have the heat lamp on her and soon she stops shivering, takes a nice long drink from her Mama, and promptly nestles down in the straw and goes to sleep.  It’s a lot of work being born!

Our first Nubian doe is due on Saturday.  All next week I have ladies due as a matter of fact.  Pretty soon we will be over run with bouncing babies.  Of course, I am keeping an eye on the weather reports.  After noticing that the temps are supposed to take another nose dive, I am sure that is when I will be out in the barn playing midwife to the goats and lambs.  The weather man just informed me that all next week we will have lows in the single digits or teens.  Vince just happened to call.  He was supposed to work from home all next week but now he is on the road instead.  So, very cold temps, snow, ice, Does & Ewes due to give birth, and no Vince.  Yep, sounds about just right.  Hopefully, at least I’ll get more girls.

I am a little kid, it’s Christmas morning, and their are 100’s of presents under the tree with my name on them.

I have uploaded a picture of Miss Molly as Mikey has named her.  Gotta love them there babies!!!

 Miss Molly

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

