The Bon-Bon Queen

If anybody has actually had time to read blogs and mine in particular you will know that I recently had back surgery.  I have spent the past month or so laying around, eating Bon-Bons, and giving orders to all my willing servants…YEAH RIGHT!!!

I am so sick of just laying around.  If you know me…you know this is driving me crazy.  Of course we have LOTS of snow on the ground which makes walking outside not so fun if you are afraid of falling.  Trips to the barn to see my ladies are sporadic.  Only my daughter seems to understand my need to spend time with all the animals.  She takes pity on me and walks me down to see the girls.  The few trips to the barn have been the high light of these past weeks.  I will admit that as soon as Vince is out the door…I am headed to the barn for a visit.

The husband has been doing laundry and other various chores.  Complaining constantly, reminding me that he is doing EVERYTHING and to top it all off…he does it SOOO much faster AND better than I do!  He does everything that I did plus all of his jobs too.  Why the world would come to a screeching hault, the earth wouldn’t rotate, civilization would starve, and we would all become extinct if he wasn’t here to take care of EVERYTHING!!!  I suspect that most husbands are like mine…if they do one little extra chore you will hear about it for the next century.

Now let’s be honest…he is doing more than his fair share but it isn’t because I am lazy (he seems to forget that).  Also, I HATE laying around and I am not going to enjoy it in the least bit with Vince going on and on and on and on!  Let’s also be honest about another thing…the house isn’t getting cleaned by “everyone pitching in”…I am still doing that (ssshhh….don’t tell my surgeon).  I figure it can’t hurt to dust and sweep.  I am the one who still makes the meals also.

With Christmas upon us and laying around…I have knitted and crocheted about 400 dish cloths…in every pattern imaginable…pigs, horses, dogs, cats, cows, sheep, paw prints, baby foot prints (my sister just had a baby), hearts, etc.  I have crocheted and knitted baby blankets and sweaters, I have quilted many baby quilts, wall hangings, and table runners.  I have baked bread.  I have made soap (I am officially out of frozen milk to make soap now).  I have searched the Internet for everything that I ever wanted to look up or read about.  I check my emails at least 20 times a day…hoping for someone to talk to besides the kids and husband.  So every family member, neighbor and friend is getting dishcloths, homemade bread, and soap for Christmas.  All my store bought items for Christmas were either shipped to my door or gotten very close by. 

I am excited for the holidays though…my oldest son will be spending his last Christmas with us for God knows how long.  He is leaving for  the Marine Corps.  All of my family is coming.  We haven’t all been together at Christmas time since I was a little girl.  After the holidays, is like a second Christmas to me…The Pa Farm Show!!!  I secretly dream of my ladies winning Grand Champion or Best Doe in Show!  After the farm show, it is only a few weeks until the stork cometh! 

Baby time on the farm is the best time of the year in my opinion.  It is a HUGE amount of work.  Milking does, attending births at all hours, bottle feeding kids around the clock, etc.  When you do fall into bed, you are exhausted.  But who can beat getting to spend all that time with the animals?  Little baby goats bouncing around and adorable little lambs to cuddle…it is like Christmas all over again for me.

So I am looking towards the future…soon I will be off the sofa and back on my feet again.  I have so much to look forward to.  I just keep reminding myself of that when the husband is complaining and the kids are driving me crazy.  Anyone have any ear plugs?  maybe Santa will bring me some.  I better put that on my wish list.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from our family to yours!

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bon-Bon Queen

  1. Pingback: ABC’s Wife Swap « Bada Bing Farm

Leave a Reply

