The Night the Lights Went Out

One day last week was quite an eventful day here at the farm.  I spent the entire day dealing with computer problems.  The kids take virtual classroom classes via the computer.  This works out really great except when there are technical difficulties.  Nothing seemed to be going right…just one of those days I guess.

 

I was so flipping angry and frustrated with it all.  I told the kids at 5pm to just forget about school for the rest of the day and we would try again tomorrow.  We sit down to eat  and I try to digest my dinner while the kids are fighting between mouthfuls of food.  By milking time, I was in a raw mood to say the least.

 

We begin our usual duties…Katie is complaining that Mike is bothering her, Mikey is doing everything except what he is supposed to be doing, and I am hollering at Katie to feed the sheep and Mikey to fill up their water buckets. 

 

It is now dusk and we finally are headed down to the goat barn to do the milking and feeding chores.  Katie is still complaining about Mikey.  Mikey is still not doing what he is supposed to do.  I am now swearing at this point wondering why I ever wanted to have kids.

 

My offspring finally quit the nonsense and begin their chores.  I sit down at the milk stand, turn on the pump and begin milking the 1st of 13 does.  The lights go dim.  The kids are all excited.  Katie says, “It’s just like that show The Haunting on the Discovery Channel”.  “I think the barn is haunted”.  This officially scares the crap out of Mikey who now no longer wants to be in the barn to do chores.  I automatically think that the electric is shortening out and the barn is going to catch on fire (being a 911 dispatcher…this is one of my biggest fears).  I shut off the milker and tell Katie to go get my cell phone.

 

I call Vince on the phone and explain the situation to him.  He calms me down after we realize that our whole neighborhood is having the same problem.  Then the electric goes completely out.

 

By now it is completely dark; none of the goats have food, water, or have been milked.  I send the kids to the house to find me a WORKING flashlight.  I emphasize working because otherwise they will bring me a flashlight with no batteries.  I tell them also to bring me the milk pail because I am going to have to milk everyone by hand now.

 

Katie comes back down to the pitch black barn and says, “I can’t find a flashlight.  How about a candle?”  I am thinking to myself…now I know why some species eat their young.  My reply, “no, I don’t think an open flame inside the barn is a good idea unless you would like to catch it on fire.  Please go find me a flashlight, NOW!  While I am waiting for what seemed liked forever, the goats are all baaing very loudly for their food and water.

 

She finally finds one and returns.  I tell Mikey to fill up the water buckets.  Mikey reminds me that we don’t have any water without electricity because the well pump doesn’t work without it.  Crap!  How am I going to get water to these thirsty animals?  I send the kids (a big mistake) to the neighbors to see if they have any water at their outside hydrant.

 

Now I am in the dark barn with a flashlight in my mouth, trying to hand milk our 13 does.  They aren’t used to being hand milked anymore and they are kicking the bucket.  Little flies and moths are flying towards the light in my mouth.  They are going up my nose and in the milk.

 

The kids come back finally but without any water.  I tell them to separate what water we do have and hopefully give every pen at least a half bucket until the electricity comes back on.  As soon as we accomplish this, the lights come back on.  We get every bucket out of every frigging pen, fill it, and put it back.

 

I take my milk pail with the drowned flies and moths in it outside and just dump it.  This makes me even angrier because I hate to waste anything!  We get into the house, I send the kids to bed, take a shower, and crawl into bed exhausted.  But the story doesn’t end there.

 

Please read post titled…Coyotes 0, Rambo 1

About asciotti

Please keep in mind that I never grew up on a farm, lived in the city or its suburbs all my life. Many farmers out there will find this blog a hoot as I stumble through the every day life of running a farm (most of the time...all by myself).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Night the Lights Went Out

  1. Pingback: ABC’s Wife Swap « Bada Bing Farm

Leave a Reply

